National Championships

Purdue University Intercollegiate Athletics has a proud and storied tradition. The Boilermakers have captured four national championships, beginning with the 1932 men's basketball team, which was selected as national champions by the Helms Athletic Foundation. The first NCAA-sanctioned postseason tournament was not held until 1939.

Three Boilermaker teams have captured NCAA championships: men's golf in 1961, women's basketball in 1999 and women's golf in 2010.

Below is a list of Purdue's national championship teams with a recap of each memorable season:

1932Men's BasketballRecap
1961Men's GolfRecap
1999Women's BasketballRecap
2010Women's GolfRecap

Purdue student-athletes have won 27 individual national championships:

Orval MartinTrack & Field (outdoor)800-Yard Run1930
Duane PurvisTrack & Field (outdoor)Javelin1933
Arnold PlazaWrestling114.5 Pounds1948
Keith CarterSwimming200 Breaststroke1949
Arnold PlazaWrestling121 Pounds1949
Joe PatacsilWrestling128 Pounds1950
Fred WamplerGolf-1950
Don AlbertGolf-1954
Joe CampbellGolf-1955
Gene FrancisGolf-1960
Larry BurtonTrack & Field (outdoor)200-Yard Dash1972
Ed LangfordTrack & Field (indoor)Pole Vault1981
Charles JonesWrestling167 Pounds1992
Corissa YasenTrack & Field (outdoor)Heptathlon1996
Toyinda SmithTrack & Field (indoor)Weight Throw1999
Serene RossTrack & Field (outdoor)Javelin2002
Lindsey BlaineTrack & Field (outdoor)Javelin2007
David BoudiaDiving3-Meter2009
David BoudiaDivingPlatform2009
Maria HernandezGolf-2009
David BoudiaDiving1-Meter2010
David BoudiaDiving3-Meter2010
David BoudiaDiving1-Meter2011
David BoudiaDiving3-Meter2011
Casey MatthewsDiving3-Meter2013
Steele JohnsonDiving1-Meter2015
Steele JohnsonDivingPlatform2015