Alexander Field

Alexander Field (1350 McCormick Road)

From Indianapolis
Take I-65 North to State Road 25 (exit 175).
Take a left on State Road 25, towards Lafayette, for approximately 1 mile.
Turn right on U.S. 52. Stay on U.S. 52 for approximately 2 miles to Yeager Road (fourth stoplight).
Turn left on Yeager Road.
Follow ensuing roundaround (approximately 0.25 miles) to Northwestern Avenue.
Make a right on Cherry Lane (first stoplight).
Continue on Cherry Lane through McCormick Road (first stop sign; approximately 1 mile).
Parking is on the north side of Alexander Field. For additional parking options, turn left on McCormick Road and turn into Boilermaker Soccer Complex/Schwartz Tennis Center parking lots.

From Chicago
Take I-65 south to S.R. 43 (exit 178).
Turn right off ramp.
Follow State Road 43 approximately 7 miles to the fourth stoplight (State Road 26 West/State Street).
Turn right on State Road 26.
Turn right at second stoplight (Grant Street).
Follow Grant Street to next stoplight.
Turn left on Northwestern Avenue.
Follow Northwestern Avenue to Cherry Lane. (second stoplight; approximately 1 mile)
Turn left on Cherry Lane.
Continue on Cherry Lane through McCormick Road (first stop sign; approximately 1 mile).
Parking is on the north side of Alexander Field. For additional parking options, turn left on McCormick Road and turn into Boilermaker Soccer Complex/Schwartz Tennis Center parking lots.

Alexander Field became the new home of Purdue baseball beginning with fall practice in September 2012. Previously, Lambert Field was the home of the Boilermakers from 1965 to 2012.

The inaugural regular-season game was held at Alexander Field on March 22, 2013, against Ohio State. Purdue posted its first win on Friday, April 5 vs. Northwestern. An official stadium dedication ceremony was held between games of the April 20 doubleheader against Nebraska. The ceremony featured remarks from director of athletics Morgan Burke, former head coach and the stadium's lead donor Dave Alexander as well as senior pitcher Robert Ramer.

Alexander Field features Alex's Clubhouse down the left field line, a building that houses Purdue's team locker room, indoor hitting facility, team meeting room and sports medicine room. Purdue's third base dugout has been named in honor of the Omholt Family. Glenn E. Omholt (1946-50) & David E. Omholt (1988-92) both played baseball for the Boilermakers and donated to the Alexander Field project. The sports medicine room in the clubhouse was named in honor of Charles & Susan Armstrong. Chuck Armstrong is a Purdue alumnus & was the president of the Seattle Mariners from 1992-2013. Click HERE for the Facebook photo gallery of the new signage around the stadium in 2013.

Oct. 5, 2012 -- 2012 Big Ten title team honored as part of Alumni Weekend at Alexander Field

Sept. 12, 2012 -- Purdue to host Alexander Field open house & season ticket drive

Sept. 30, 2011 -- Stadium named Alexander Field in honor of former coach's parents

May 28, 2010 -- Financing approved by Board of Trustees

Alexander Field was named in honor of the late John and Anna Margaret Ross Alexander. The Alexanders were the parents of Dave Alexander, who provided the lead gift for the project. Dave Alexander was Purdue baseball coach from 1978 to 1991 and then an athletics administrator through 1994. All three Alexanders graduated from Purdue, and Dave played on Purdue's baseball team.

John Alexander earned a bachelor's degree in 1933, while Anna Margaret Ross Alexander earned a bachelor's degree in 1935. Both received honorary doctorates from Purdue in 1986. John Alexander was a partner in the Indianapolis law firm Krieg, DeVault, Alexander and Capehart. He was a leading authority on banking legislation in the state. He was president of the Purdue Alumni Association from 1953-1955.

Anna Margaret Ross Alexander was an active community leader in Indianapolis, particularly with the schools. She was a member of the Indianapolis Board of School Commissioners from 1966 to 1970, serving as president in 1969 and 1970. In 1984 she was the first recipient of the Purdue Alumni Association Citizenship Award.

Alexander Field Firsts (2013 Season)
Game: March 22 vs. Ohio State (OSU won 10-1)
Purdue Win: April 5 vs. Northwestern (13-4 Final)
Pitch: Brad Schreiber (March 22)
At-Bat: OSU's Tim Wetzel (March 22)
Purdue At-Bat: Jack Picchiotti (March 22)
Hit: OSU's Tim Wetzel (March 22, First Inning)
Purdue Hit: Conner Hudnall (March 22, Second Inning)
Walk: OSU's Ryan Cypret (March 22, First Inning)
Purdue Walk: Angelo Cianfrocco (March 22, Ninth Inning)
Strikeout: Brad Schreiber vs. OSU's Patrick Porter (March 22, First Inning)
Run Scored: OSU's Jacob Bosiokovic (March 22, Second Inning)
Purdue Run Scored: Kyle Johnson (March 22, Eighth Inning)
RBI: OSU's Tim Wetzel (March 22, Second Inning on Bases-Loaded Walk)
Purdue RBI: Jack Picchiotti (March 22, Eighth Inning on Fielder's Choice)
Home Run: OSU's Kirby Pellant (March 22, Fourth Inning)
Purdue Home Run: Jack Picchiotti (April 5, Eighth Inning)
Stolen Base: OSU's Ryan Cypret (March 22, Sixth Inning)
Purdue Stolen Base: Stephen Talbott (March 23, Second Inning of Game One)
Double Play: 4-6-3 turned by Purdue's Krieg, Hansen & Cianfrocco (March 23, Eighth Inning of Game One)
Purdue Pitching Win: Jordan Minch (April 5)
Purdue Save: Brett Andrzejewski (May 3)
Purdue Series Win & Sweep: May 3-5 vs. Southern Illinois
Extra-Innings Game: Iowa 2, Purdue 1 - 11 Innings (May 16)
Multi-Homer Game: Sean McHugh, 2 (May 17)

Purdue's First Team Practice at Alexander Field, May 28

Photo Galleries of Alexander Field Construction Progress
Architectural Renderings | Sept. 10 | July 10 | May 28 | May 11 | April 17 | March 29

The Final Season at Lambert Field -- 2012 Big Ten Champions

The Final Season at Lambert Field Photo Gallery

Alumni Share Their Lambert Field Memories | Submit Your Memories

May 15, 2012 -- Purdue Wins Lambert Finale in Walk-off Fashion | Photo Gallery

May 11, 2012 -- Boilers Clinch Big Ten Title on Alumni Day at Lambert | Photo Gallery 1 | Photo Gallery 2

The Final Game at Lambert Field

Purdue Wins Big Ten Title at Lambert