One of the oldest and most prestigious football trophies in the nation, the Old Oaken Bucket goes annually to the winner of the Purdue-Indiana football battle.

While the presentation of the trophy dates 90 years, the bucket itself is more than 150 years old.

The bucket was found, in a bad state of repair and covered with moss and mold, on the old Bruner farm between Kent and Hanover in southern Indiana, after the Chicago alumni groups of both Purdue and Indiana enthusiastically decided in 1925 that a traditional trophy for the winner of the gridiron clash would be appropriate.

Russell Gray of Purdue and Dr. Clarence Jones of Indiana were given the task of finding a suitable trophy. They recommended that "an old oaken bucket would be a most typical trophy from this state and should be taken from a well somewhere in Indiana."

Purdue's Fritz Ernst and Whiley J. Huddle of Indiana found the fabled bucket and it is said that Confederate General Morgan's command used it during an incursion into Indiana during the Civil War. It has had an equally storied history since 1925, several times having been kidnapped by partisans from both schools - a couple of times missing so long that it was given up as lost, only to turn up mysteriously just before or after the annual game.

The time-worn bucket was presented as a prize by the late George Ade, distinguished humorist from Purdue, and the late Harry Kurrie, then president of the Monon Railroad, representing Indiana.

The first game ended in a 0-0 tie, resulting in the "I-P" link attached to the bucket. Since then, there have been 58 "P" links, 30 "I" links and two additional "I-P" links attached to the chain. Purdue has been victorious in 13 of the last 19 showdowns, dating to 1997. Indiana won the 2015 meeting 54-36 in West Lafayette.


The Cannon was conceived by Purdue students more than 100 years ago but was first presented as a trophy by an Illinois alumnus in 1943.

It all started in 1905 when a group of Purdue students took the weapon to Champaign in anticipation of firing it to celebrate a victory. Although Purdue did win the game 29-0, Illinois supporters, including Quincy A. Hall, had discovered the Cannon in its hiding place - in a culvert near the old Illinois field - and confiscated it before the Purdue students could start their "booming" celebration.

Later, Hall moved the Cannon to his farmhouse near Milford, Illinois, where it survived a fire and gathered dust until Hall suggested it be used as a trophy in the football series between the two schools when the rivalry was resumed in 1943 after a 12-year lapse.

The Tomahawk Service and Leadership Honorary at Purdue and Illini Pride now share the maintenance duty. Purdue leads the Cannon series 33-29-2, including eight wins in the last 11 matchups. Illinois won the 2015 meeting 48-14 in West Lafayette.


Nineteen miniature gold footballs signifying Purdue victories adorn the base of the Shillelagh, the trophy that goes to the winner of the annual Purdue-Notre Dame football game. The Fighting Irish have "ND" in 39 such footballs.

The newest of the three trophies, the Shillelagh was donated in 1957 by the late Joe McLaughlin, a merchant seaman and a Fighting Irish fan who brought the club from Ireland.

Following each Boilermaker-Irish football game, a football with the winner's initial and the final score is attached to the Shillelagh's stand.

Notre Dame won the most-recent meeting 30-14 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis in 2014.

Purdue and Notre Dame played annually for 68 consecutive years from 1946 to 2014 but will not meet again until 2020.


In 1975, a heated rivalry between the Purdue and Indiana volleyball teams began.

A little incentive was added to the series in 1981 with the creation of the Monon Spike. The traveling trophy is presented to the winning team after one of the two annual matches.

Donna Hardesty and Anne McMenamy, seniors on the 1981 Purdue team, created the trophy idea. They set out to find an object that would be a reminder of the competition on the court, as well as something rich with the tradition of the state of Indiana. They chose the Spike from the Monon Railroad, which originated in Indiana in the late 19th century. It was taken from a portion of railroad track in Lafayette. The trophy was unveiled at a media luncheon Sept. 2, 1981, at the Lafayette Country Club.

As with its sister trophy, the Old Oaken Bucket, a "P" or an "I" link is added to the chain signifying the season's winner. The Spike currently has 30 "P" links and 12 "I" links.

The Boilermakers won 24 consecutive matches against Indiana from 1978 to 1985, including 10 straight Spike matches.

Under head coach Dave Shondell, Purdue has won eight straight and 12 of 13 Spike matches.

The Boilermakers lead the overall series, which is the oldest in volleyball program history, 62-34 through the 2015 season.


Beginning with the 1993-94 season, the Purdue and Indiana women's basketball teams have played an annual game for the Barn Burner Trophy. The traveling trophy is similar in concept to football's Old Oaken Bucket, volleyball's Monon Spike and soccer's Golden Boot. It is a wood plaque with a drawing of a barn and an attached basketball hoop, which best describes basketball in Indiana.

Sara Lee Corporation funded the plaque as part of its Discover Women's Sports Program.

Purdue has won 18 of the 23 Barn Burner Trophy meetings - the first three contests and 15 of the last 18. The Boilermakers won the most-recent game, 63-53 in West Lafayette on Jan. 10, 2016.

In the overall series, Indiana won 17 of the first 19 meetings from 1976 to 1986, but Purdue has turned the tables by winning 51 of the last 61 - including 11 of 13, 16 of 20, 22 of 27 and 31 of 37 - to take a 53-27 advantage through the 2015-16 season.


The Golden Boot is on the line each time the Purdue and Indiana women's soccer teams meet. The Boilermakers hold an 11-4-2 advantage in their regular-season series with the Hoosiers through the 2015 season.

After each victory, the winning team takes the trophy home and adds a letter to the chain attached to the gold-dipped soccer shoe. On each letter is engraved the date and score of the match it represents. The first letter on the chain is an "I," marking Indiana's overtime win in the inaugural meeting between the intrastate rivals in 1999. The next five letters are "P"s, denoting Purdue's five subsequent victories. In 2005, the teams battled to a 1-1 draw, keeping the Golden Boot Trophy in West Lafayette for a sixth consecutive year. The Boilermakers extended their regular-season unbeaten streak against Indiana to 12 before it was finally snapped in 2012 with a loss in Bloomington. In the process, Indiana gained possession of the Golden Boot for the first time. The Hoosiers retained the trophy in 2013 and 2014 before the Boilermakers regained it with a 2-0 victory in Bloomington in 2015.

The concept for the creation of a trophy to match football's Old Oaken Bucket and women's basketball's Barn Burner originally was discussed in 1998. But it was not until 2002, when former Purdue assistant Ian Rickerby joined new Indiana coach Mick Lyon on the Hoosier staff, that the Golden Boot came to fruition. Former Purdue head coach Rob Klatte convinced Lyon that a traveling rivalry trophy would increase the significance of each meeting between the traditional rivals. Both coaching staffs pursued its design, which was completed in the fall of 2002.

Purdue and Indiana have met three times in postseason play, with the Boilermakers holding a 2-0-1 advantage in those games to lead the overall all-time series 13-4-3 through the 2015 season.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago