Djokovic Earns Big Ten Women's Tennis Sportsmanship Award
Andjela Djokovic

April 24, 2014

EVANSTON, Ill. - Purdue women's tennis freshman Andjela Djokovic was one of 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees recognized as the Big Ten announced its women's tennis All-Conference teams and individual award winners at the conference tournament banquet Thursday.

The student-athletes chosen as Sportsmanship Award winners are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Michigan's Emina Bektas was named Athlete of the Year, while Ohio State's Gabriella De Santis took home Freshman of the Year honors and the Wolverines' Ronni Bernstein was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Bektas reeled in Athlete of the Year accolades after going 10-1 in Big Ten singles play and 8-1 in doubles action. The junior claimed four Big Ten Athlete of the Week honors this spring, pushing her career total to 10 weekly awards. She closed out the regular season ranked 10th in the country and led the Wolverines to their fifth consecutive Big Ten Championship and the No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Tournament. Bektas' award marks the sixth Athlete of the Year honor for a Wolverine and first since Denise Muresan in 2011.

De Santis earned Freshman of the Year honors after posting a 9-1 mark in Big Ten singles play and a perfect 9-0 doubles record. The newcomer is currently ranked 81st in the nation and claimed one Big Ten Athlete of the Week honor this season. De Santis is the second Buckeye to be named Freshman of the Year and the first since Kristy Dascoli in 1998.

Bernstein collected her fifth consecutive Coach of the Year award and the ninth in Michigan history. The Wolverine mentor led her team to a 19-3 overall record and an 11-0 ledger in conference play en route to Michigan's fifth consecutive Big Ten title. The Wolverines are currently ranked No. 17 in the country and enter the Big Ten Tournament as the top seed.

Bektas and De Santis were both unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections and are joined by Michigan's Ronit Yurovsky, Michigan State's Marina Bohrer and Northwestern's Veronica Corning as unanimous picks. Also on the first team are Iowa's Ruth Seaborne, Michigan's Brooke Bolender and Sarah Lee, Northwestern's Alicia Barnett and Belinda Niu, Ohio State's Miho Kowase and Wisconsin's Lauren Chypyha.

Earning consideration on the second team were Illinois' Allison Falkin, Indiana's Sophie Garre and Katie Klyczek, Minnesota's Tereza Brichacova, Ohio State's Sandy Niehaus and Penn State's Dasha Sapogova.


First-Team All-Big Ten

Ruth Seaborne, Iowa
Brooke Bolender, Michigan
Sarah Lee, Michigan
MARINA BOHRER, Michigan State
Alicia Barnett, Northwestern
Belinda Niu, Northwestern
Miho Kowase, Ohio State
Lauren Chypyha, Wisconsin

Second-Team All-Big Ten
Allison Falkin, Illinois
Sophie Garre, Indiana
Katie Klyczek, Indiana
Tereza Brichacova, Minnesota
Sandy Niehaus, Ohio State
Dasha Sapogova, Penn State

Unanimous selections in CAPS

Athlete of the Year: Emina Bektas, Michigan
Freshman of the Year: Gabriella De Santis, Ohio State
Coach of the Year: Ronni Bernstein, Michigan

Louise Kwong, Illinois
Kayla Fujimoto, Indiana
Aimee Tarun, Iowa
Sarah Lee, Michigan
Athena Trouillot, Michigan State
Natallia Pintusava, Minnesota
Maike Zeppernick, Nebraska
Nida Hamilton, Northwestern
Noelle Malley, Ohio State
Marie-Frederique Bedard, Penn State
Andjela Djokovic, Purdue
Anastasia Tripolskaya, Wisconsin




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago