Boudia & Soldati Garner National Awards from USA Diving
Adam Soldati coached Casey Matthews to a 3-meter NCAA title & David Boudia to a 10-meter silver medal in 2013.

Nov. 26, 2013

Follow PurdueWSwim on Twitter

INDIANAPOLIS -- Alumnus David Boudia and head diving coach Adam Soldati of Purdue swimming and diving have been selected among USA Diving's annual award winners and will be recognized next month in conjunction with the USA Diving Winter Nationals.

Boudia will receive USA Diving's Athlete of the Year award for the fourth consecutive year and fifth time in his career. Boudia won the silver medal on 10-meter at the FINA World Championships in Barcelona this summer. He also won silver on that event at the AT&T USA Diving Grand Prix in May, which was his first competition since winning gold at the 2012 Olympic Games. He was a six-time NCAA champion and three-time Purdue Male Athlete of the Year honoree during his three seasons as a Boilermaker.

Soldati will be recognized with two coaching awards. He will receive the Benjamin Foundation Coaches Performance Award and the Fred A. Cady Memorial Award. Thanks to a generous gift from The Elizabeth and Barets O. Benjamin Foundation, the Coaches Performance recognizes coaches whose athletes win medals in the World Championships or Olympic Games. The Fred A. Cady Memorial Award is presented to a coach who is responsible for an American gold medal winner at the Olympic Games. Soldati coached Boudia to gold at the 2012 Olympic Games and silver at the 2013 World Championships on 10-meter. He also guided Casey Matthews to 3-meter NCAA title in March.

The USA Diving Winter Nationals return to the diving calendar this year after being on hiatus during the 2012 Olympic year. The University of Texas' Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swim Center in Austin will serve as the site host this year. Competition is set for Dec. 17-22 and all of the current Purdue divers are also expected to be entered in at least one event. Boudia and Soldati will be recognized at a reception on Dec. 20.

Austin will also be the host city of the 2014 Men's NCAA Championships in March.

USA Diving will also be recognizing the following individual awards at the Dec. 20 reception.

Cheyenne Cousineau has been named the recipient of the Wendy Wyland Award. Presented in memory of the late 1984 Olympic bronze medalist, the award recognizes a diver who represents the following qualities: A love for the sport; extremely hard working; exceptional competitive ability; courage in dealing with adversity; ability to come back from injury or illness; a never quit attitude; respect for fellow competitors; and performance beyond expectations. Cousineau developed a blood clot in her brain that caused a stroke and seizure the day after her 19th birthday. She was told she would never dive again. Now 22, Cousineau has returned to diving and has established herself as one of the best divers in the country. She represented Team USA in synchronized 10-meter at the 2013 FINA World Championships and won the national title on that event in August.

Julian Krug will be presented with the Phil Boggs Award, which honors those who have achieved individual excellence in diving and have given back a part of themselves to assure the sport's continuation and success. A 1966 All-American at the University of Wisconsin, Krug was the first diver to execute a front 5 ½ on 10-meter. Currently the chairman of USA Diving's Senior Diving Committee, Krug has also served on USA Diving's board of directors as well as the NCAA Rules Committee. He has worked the past six Olympic Games as an adviser for the NBC broadcast crew. Krug is in his 34th year of coaching at the University of Pittsburgh.

Kelly Jackman will receive the Glenn McCormick Memorial Award, in recognition for outstanding contributions to the sport of diving. Jackman, a former diving parent, developed, an online diving management system that has revolutionized the sport. With the development of, divers can register for meets and enter dive sheets online and meet managers can enter scores online in real-time. also offers an extensive archive of results and statistical data on each diver.

Jeff Huber will receive the Mike Peppe Award, given to the outstanding senior diving coach, for the 13th time in his career. Huber's Indiana Diving team won the overall team championship title at the 2013 AT&T National Diving Championships. Four of Huber's athletes represented Team USA in international competitions in 2013. Amy Cozad competed for Team USA at the FINA World Championships and Darian Schmidt was on the U.S. squad at the FINA Grand Prix in Canada. Casey Johnson and Conor Murphy were members of the World University Games team.

Justin Sochor has been selected the recipient of the Moose Moss Age Group Coach of the Year Award. Sochor coached the Ohio State Diving Club to the team title at the 2013 USA Diving Junior National Championships, with five of his athletes claiming individual or synchronized titles at that meet. Four of his divers were selected to compete at the 2013 Junior Pan American Diving Championships, with Noah Duperre, Estee Pryor and Nikki Watters coming home with medals. Sochor also was named head coach of the 2013 FINA World Championships team.

-- Story by Jen Lowery, USA Diving




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago