As Many as 30 Countries to be Represented at Purdue Invite
London native Francesca Marr broke the program record in the 400 IM at the 2012 Big Ten Championships.

Nov. 14, 2012

Live Results | Live Diving Scores | Live Meet Blog | Weekend Preview

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. -- As many as 30 countries could be represented at the three-day, six-session Purdue Invitational swimming and diving meet at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center this weekend.

Purdue welcomes men's and women's teams from Cincinnati, Louisville, Missouri State, Southern Illinois and Utah to campus this weekend for the largest meet of the 2012-13 college season at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center. Michigan will also be represented by smaller groups of selected competitors.

While it is difficult to say for sure who will be traveling for all the visiting teams, international student-athletes from as many as 29 countries could be competing at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center this weekend. Along with the USA, those 29 countries includes: Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, China, Columbia, Czech Republic, El Salvador, England, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Poland, Russia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates and Venezuela.

Purdue's current international contingent includes: Sebastien Aube (Canada), Jamie Bissett (Canada), Guillermo Blanco (Spain), Lyam Dias (Canada), Eduard Galdeano (Spain), Anji Li (Mexico), Francesca Marr (England) as well as the brother-sister duo of Jan and Nika Petric (Slovenia). Additionally, Lew Gerbrandt (China), Manuel Gutierrez (Mexico), Amy Katz (Taiwan) and Carly Marshall (Canada) were born in other countries but grew up and attended high school in the United States. Lysi Halkides (Greece) and Madison Monteiro (Brazil) both hold dual citizenship.

March 29-31 of this year, the Boilermaker Aquatic Center hosted a USA Swimming Grand Prix meet that served as a qualifier for the U.S. Olympic Team Trials. Over 300 competitors were in attendance, many of whom also had international ties.

The Purdue Invitational begins Friday at 10 a.m. and runs through Sunday evening. Admission is free to all sessions. Swimming preliminary sessions are daily at 10 a.m. Diving prelims begin at 1 p.m. Friday and Saturday. The Boilermakers will compete in platform diving for the first time this season Sunday at noon. Platform diving is a finals only event. The relay events will be contested along with the point-scoring individual finals in the evening sessions, which are set for 6 p.m. Friday and Saturday and 4 p.m. Sunday.

Jasmine Matkovic (Wellington Point) -- Utah

Nikolas Sachs (Vienna) -- Louisville

Isabela Castro (Belo Horizonte) -- Southern Illinois
Pedro Coutinho (Goiania) -- Louisville
Joao De Lucca (Rio de Janeiro) -- Louisville
Andrade Esteavo (Belo Horizonte) -- Southern Illinois
Alex Fernandes (Sao Paulo) -- Utah
Yuri Garanito (Sao Paulo) -- Missouri State
Giuliana Gigliotti (Rio de Janeiro) -- Utah
Juliana Kagami (Sao Paulo) -- Missouri State
Marco Madeira (Rio de Janeiro) -- Southern Illinois
Renata Sander (Belo Horizonte) -- Missouri State
Luisa Silveira (Floriandpolis) -- Southern Illinois

Sebastien Aube (La Sarre, Quebec) -- Purdue
Jamie Bissett (Ottawa, Ontario) -- Purdue
Devon Bibault (Edmonton, Alberta) -- Louisville
Paolina Carnevale (Mississauga, Ontario) -- Utah
Lyam Dias (L'Original, Ontario) -- Purdue
Melissa Larocque (Valleyfield, Quebec) -- Southern Illinois
Kersten Merry (Edmonton, Alberta) -- Utah
Brittany Weigel (Edmonton, Alberta) -- Southern Illinois

Nelson Foo (Hong Kong) -- Utah
Cheri Zhang (Hu Bei) -- Southern Illinois

Juan Lopez (Bogota) - Louisville
Juan Arbelaez (Ibague) -- Southern Illinois

Czech Republic
Helena Pikhartova (Prague) -- Cincinnati

El Salvador
Pamela Benitez (San Salvador) -- Southern Illinois

Charlotte Davies (Margate) -- Southern Illinois
Francesca Marr (London) -- Purdue

Petra Soininen (Espoo) -- Utah

Thomas Dahlia (Antibes) -- Louisville
Thomas Defay (Nantes) -- Southern Illinois

Milli Puth (Mainz) -- Cincinnati
Till Pallmann (Zweibrucken) -- Southern Illinois
Ella Otto (Stuttgart) -- Southern Illinois

Csaba Gercsak (Budapest) -- Southern Illinois
Bence Kiraly (Szeged) -- Utah
Eszter Povazsay (Dunakeszi) -- Louisville

Roni Balzam (Ramat Yishay) -- Missouri State

Awse Ma'aya (Amman) - Cincinnati

Oleg Rabota (Almaty) -- Southern Illinois

Uvis Kalnins (Valmiera) -- Missouri State

Grite Apanaviciute (Anykscai) -- Louisville

Anji Li (Cuernavaca) -- Purdue
Roberto Nevarez (Chihuahua) -- Cincinnati

Aleksandra Kaminska (Warsaw) - Cincinnati
Michal Bulak (Zamosc) -- Missouri State
Olaf Meller (Olsztyn) -- Southern Illinois
Weronika Wasiakowska (Przykop) - Cincinnati

Iuliia Fedoreeva (Barnaul) -- Cincinnati

Jan Petric (Kranj) -- Purdue
Nika Petric (Kranj) -- Purdue

South Africa
Janke Engelbrecht (Tzaneen) -- Missouri State
Daan Jansen (Polokwane) -- Missouri State
Suzanne Van Rensburg (Polokwane) -- Missouri State

Guillermo Blanco (Madrid) - Purdue
Eduard Galdeano (Tarraonga) -- Purdue
Marta Nogueroles (Barcelona) -- Missouri State

Anna Ahlin (Stockholm) -- Missouri State
Bjorn Gunnarsson (Norrkoping) -- Utah
Jonas Holmstrom (Malmo) -- Utah
Kristian Kron (Handen) -- Utah

Trinidad & Tobago
Caryle Blondell (San Fernando Hill) -- Louisville

Vitalii Baryshok (Lugansk) -- Missouri State

United Arab Emirates
Kevin Riazanov (Dubai) -- Utah

Ruben Izarra -- Louisville
Andrea Uzcategui (Caracas) -- Missouri State




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago