Third Choice

Aug. 21, 2006

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - For the fourth-consecutive year, the Big Ten coaches voted Penn State as its choice to win the conference regular-season title, followed by Illinois and Purdue.

Ohio State, which missed last season's conference tournament at 3-7-0, is picked to place fourth with Michigan State and Michigan claiming the fifth and sixth spots.

Minnesota is projected to finish seventh, while last year's Big Ten Tournament champion Wisconsin was picked to clinch the eighth and final tournament spot.

This year's Big Ten Tournament will be hosted by Penn State, Nov. 2 to 5.

The preseason coaches' poll is often the season's first source of bulletin board material. Purdue was picked to finish seventh in 2005, but finished second to Penn State. Michigan State sailed from ninth to third, and Minnesota climbed from 10th to fifth.

The 2006 season begins this Friday, Aug. 25 for all 11 conference teams. Purdue kicks off its season at home against Western Kentucky at 5:30 p.m.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago