Purdue Women's Golf: 2010 NCAA Champions

The Purdue women's golf team won the 2010 NCAA Championship, edging the University of Southern California by one stroke. The Boilermakers finished with a one-over par 1,153 - a school-record low score for 72 holes and the second-lowest four-round team score in NCAA Championships history.

Purdue became the first Big Ten Conference and the first northern-based women's golf team to win a national championship. Moreover, from 1993 through 2009, the national champion was either Duke or a Pac-10 Conference school all but once. Georgia was the exception, winning the 2001 championship.

Devon Brouse was named the National Golf Coaches Association National Coach of the Year.

Purdue now has won three NCAA team championships (also 1961 men's golf and 1999 women's basketball), and the 1932 men's basketball team was selected as national champions by the Helms Athletic Foundation (the first NCAA-sanctioned postseason tournament was not held until 1939).

Listed below are links to coverage of the championship:

National Champion Women's Golf Squad Honored By Trustees (May 28, 2010)
National Champions Return To Campus (May 22, 2010)
National Champions (May 21, 2010)
Moving Day At NCAA Women's Golf Championships (May 20, 2010)
Second Round Of NCAA Championships Delayed (May 19, 2010)
Women's Golf Off To Strong Start At NCAA Championships (May 18, 2010)
No. 7 Women's Golf At NCAA Championships (May 17, 2010)

Multimedia Features:

2010 NCAA Championship Highlights Watch
LeBlanc and Gonzalez-Escallon On Winning Title Watch
Reto, Hoffmeister and Gulyanamitta On Winning Title
Third-Round Highlights ~ Photo Gallery
Final-Round Highlights ~ Photo Gallery
Welcome Home Ceremony ~ Photo Gallery



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago