Gonzalez-Escallon Named Big Ten Player Of The Year

May 1, 2012

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Purdue junior Laura Gonzalez-Escallon has added Big Ten Player of the Year to her already lengthy resume.

The Big Ten Conference office announced the 2012 Big Ten women's golf awards on Tuesday and the La Hulpe, Belgium, native picked up the player of the year honor after winning her second Big Ten Championships medal on Sunday and earning the Mary Fossum Award as the Big Ten player with the lowest stroke average to par this season. Gonzalez-Escallon also was named first team All-Big Ten for the third time.

Junior Paula Reto garnered first team All-Big Ten for the second-consecutive season, joining teammate Gonzalez-Escallon, Caroline Powers of Michigan State, Madeleine Sheils of Nebraska and Amy Meier and Rachel Rohanna of Ohio State on the first team.

Gonzalez-Escallon is ranked No. 20 by Golfweek and Reto comes in at No. 28. The two are so evenly matched, that less than three-tenths of a percentage separate their season stroke averages, with Gonzalez-Escallon averaging 73.22 strokes per round and Reto 73.48 strokes. Gonzalez-Escallon has won one tournament this season and finished as runner up in two others. She also has come in the top 15 of every tournament this season except one. On Feb. 13, Gonzalez-Escallon tied the school record with a 65 in the second of the Lady Puerto Rico Classic. Just a little over a month later, Reto broke the record with a 64 en route to a school record three-round total of 207 and a 10-stroke victory at the Lady Jaguar Intercollegiate. Reto has won two tournaments this season, has one runner-up finish and has been in the top 25 of every tournament but one.

Reto also earned the Sportsmanship Award for the Boilermakers.

Ohio State's Kendall Prince was tabbed Freshman of the Year while Michigan State's Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll was named Big Ten Coach of the Year after guiding her charges to a second-straight Big Ten Championships title.



The No. 33 Boilermakers return to action at the NCAA Central Regional on May 10 to 12 at the Ohio State Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio.

The full list of conference awards is below.

First Team
Caroline Powers, Michigan State
Madeleine Sheils, Nebraska
Amy Meier, Ohio State
Rachel Rohanna, Ohio State
Laura Gonzalez-Escallon, Purdue
Paula Reto, Purdue

Second Team
Yugene Lee, Michigan
Liz Nagel, Michigan State
Lindsey Solberg, Michigan State
Banchalee Theinthong, Minnesota
Susana Benavides, Ohio State
Kendall Prince, Ohio State

Laura Gonzalez-Escallon, Purdue

Kendall Prince, Ohio State

Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll, Michigan State

Maureen Liddy, Illinois
Kristtini Cain, Indiana
Chelsea Harris, Iowa
Meagan Bauer, Michigan
Lindsey Solberg, Michigan State
Jackie Shepherd, Minnesota
Steffi Neisen, Nebraska
Anne Ormson, Northwestern
Amy Meier, Ohio State
Christina Vosters, Penn State
Paula Reto, Purdue
Jessie Gerry, Wisconsin


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago