Five Boilermakers Earn All-Big Ten
Paula Reto is Big Ten medalist, Mary Fossum Award winner and first team All-Big Ten.

April 30, 2013

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - All five Purdue starters garnered Big Ten postseason honors after guiding the Boilermakers to a share of the 2013 Women's Golf Big Ten championship.

Big Ten medalist Paula Reto and 2012 Big Ten Player of the Year Laura Gonzalez-Escallon were both named first team All-Big Ten. Gonzalez-Escallon, who was the 2010 Big Ten Freshman of the Year has earned first team honors all four years of her Boilermaker career. Reto picked up her third-consecutive first team all-conference accolade. The Cape Town, South Africa, native was awarded a team-high three Big Ten Golfer of the Week honors this season.

Three Boilermakers were named second team All-Big Ten: sophomore Aurora Kan, senior Kishi Sinha and freshman Margaux Vanmol. Kan tied for ninth at the Big Ten Championships after back-to-back fifth place finishes to end the regular season. Sinha was Purdue's second-highest individual at the Big Ten Championships with a career-best seventh place finish. Vanmol is averaging 76.1 strokes per round this season and tied for 16th at the Big Ten Championships. Her highest placing of the year was a tie for fourth at the Mary Fossum Invitational.

Reto earned the Mary Fossum Award for low stroke average in the Big Ten. After her individual victory at the Big Ten Championships, she is averaging 72.83 strokes per round and is ranked No. 21 by Golfweek.

Sinha, a CoSIDA Academic All-American nominee was selected as Purdue's Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Michigan State's Caroline Powers earned the Big Ten Player of the Year award, Northwestern's Kaitlin Park took home Freshman of the Year accolades and the Wildcats' Emily Fletcher earned Coach of the Year honors. Powers posted a second-place finish at the Big Ten Championships, finishing with a three-over 219 during the event, seven strokes behind Reto.



Park collected Freshman of the Year honors after closing out the season with the highest Sagarin rating among Big Ten newcomers at 73.83, good for sixth in the conference. Park recorded a sixth-place finish at the Big Ten Championships.

Fletcher earns her second Coach of the Year honor in three seasons after leading the Wildcats to their first Big Ten Championships crown. Northwestern shot a 20-over 884 at the championships, tying Purdue for the conference title.

The ninth-ranked Boilermakers are the No. 4 seed in the NCAA West Regional and will play on the Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif., on May 9 to 11.

The full list of conference honors are below:


Caroline Powers, Michigan State

Kaitlyn Park, Northwestern

Emily Fletcher, Northwestern

First Team
Caroline Powers, Michigan State
Hana Lee, Northwestern
Kaitlin Park, Northwestern
Amy Meier, Ohio State
Laura Gonzalez-Escallon, Purdue
Paula Reto, Purdue

Second Team
Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State
Christine Meier, Michigan State
Aurora Kan, Purdue
Kishi Sinha, Purdue
Margaux Vanmol, Purdue
Kris Yoo, Wisconsin

Kaitlyn Wampler, Illinois
Elizabeth Tong, Indiana
Briana Midkiff, Iowa
Lauren Grogan, Michigan
Caroline Powers, Michigan State
Carmen Laguna, Minnesota
Steffi Neisen, Nebraska
Hana Lee, Northwestern
Amy Meier, Ohio State
Katlyn Elliott, Penn State
Kishi Sinha, Purdue
Lindsay Danielson, Wisconsin


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago