No. 9 Women's Golf at B1G Championships in French Lick
The Boilermakers are the top-ranked team in the Big Ten.

April 25, 2013

Purdue Championships Notes Get Acrobat Reader // Conference Championships Notes Get Acrobat Reader

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The ninth-ranked Purdue women's golf team begins Big Ten Championships action Friday morning on the Donald Ross Course at the French Lick Resort in French Lick, Ind.

All 12 Big Ten teams will compete for the conference title, with play getting underway Friday with tee times starting at 9 a.m. ET. The No. 9 Boilermakers are the highest ranked team and will be paired with No. 25 Michigan State and No. 24 Northwestern in the first round. Saturday's second round also will begin at 9 a.m., and Sunday's third and final round will tee off beginning at 8 a.m.

Purdue head coach Devon Brouse and assistant coach Caroline Haase will direct seniors Laura Gonzalez-Escallon, Paula Reto and Kishi Sinha along with sophomore Aurora Kan and freshmen Brooke Beegle and Margaux Vanmol in the postseason event to determine a conference champion.

Gonzalez-Escallon is the defending Big Ten medalist and is coming off an individual win at the Lady Buckeye Invitational. The La Hulpe, Belgium, native is ranked No. 54 by Golfweek and has two Big Ten individual titles to her name, winning in record fashion as a freshman in 2010. She is averaging 74.07 strokes per round this season.

Purdue's highest ranked golfer is Reto, who holds the No. 27 spot. Reto has won two tournaments on the year and has been tabbed Big Ten Golfer of the Week three times this season for a total of seven in her career. The Cape Town, South Africa, native is averaging a team- and career-low 73.07 strokes per round.

Kan enters the Championships on a high note, with back-to-back top-five individual finishes. She is averaging 75.96 strokes per round and shot a career-low 69 in the final round of the Marsh Landing Invitational.

Redshirt senior, Sinha, is averaging 75.74 strokes per round and was named Big Ten Golfer of the Week in the fall. Vanmol has a 76.19 season stroke average and has been in the Purdue top five all season. Beegle has competed as an individual for most of the year and the Fishers, Ind., native is averaging 80.23 strokes per round.

The Boilermakers have won five Big Ten team titles (2000, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010) and the last five individual championships, which is a conference record. Michigan State earned the team title the last two seasons, with Purdue finishing in second place both times.

The three-day, 54-hole tournament will be played out on the Donald Ross Course, which will be set up as a par-72, 6,121-yard format for the championships. Six golfers will compete for each team with the top four scores counting toward the daily team total.

The field for this year's championships includes 11 of the top 20 finishers, including five of the top 10, from a year ago. Defending champion Michigan State returns Caroline Powers (T-3rd), Allyssa Ferrell (T-14th) and Liz Nagel (T-18th), while runner-up Purdue welcomes back 2012 individual medalist Laura Gonzalez-Escallon and Paula Reto (T-10th). Michigan's Yugene Lee (second) and Lauren Grogan (T-14th) return for the Wolverines, Northwestern's Hana Lee (T-18th) and Anne Ormson (T-20th) are back for the Wildcats, while Minnesota's Jackie Shepherd (T-7th) and Penn State's Elyse Archambault (13th) also return this year.

Live scoring is available at and daily recaps with full results will be posted to and the conclusion of each round.

Highlights of the 2013 Big Ten Women's Golf Championships will air on BTN on May 8 at 6 p.m. ET.

Tournament notes are posted above.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago