No. 9 Women's Golf Remains in Second, Reto First at B1G Championships
Paula Reto is in search of her first B1G medal.

April 27, 2013

Round Two Results Get Acrobat Reader // Round Three Tee Times Get Acrobat Reader

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The ninth-ranked Purdue women's golf team shot the low round with a 294 on Saturday to trail No. 24 Northwestern by five strokes with one round remaining at the Big Ten Golf Championships in French Lick, Ind.

The Boilermakers have a total score of 587 after turning in a 293 on Friday. The Wildcats sit at 582 after going 287-295. No. 25 Michigan State has moved into third place with a team total of 600 (303-297).

Purdue's Paula Reto has taken the individual lead by carding a one-under par 71 for the second-straight day, earning a two-round total of 142. Northwestern's Kaitlin Park shot even par today and is in second place with a 143.

Boilermaker redshirt senior Kishi Sinha is in third place at 146. The New Delhi, India, native has fired a 73 in each round to sit at two-over par for the tournament. Sinha's personal best finish in the conference championships was a tie for 40th place last year.

Sophomore Aurora Kan and freshman Margaux Vanmol are tied for 16th with two-round totals of 150. Kan shot a 76 on Saturday after starting off with a two-over par 74 in round one, while Vanmol carded a 76 to open play and improved with a 74 in the second round for her 150.

Defending Big Ten medalist Laura Gonzalez-Escallon fired a 77 and is tied for 21st place with a total of 152. The senior from La Hulpe, Belgium carded a 75 on Friday.

Freshman Brooke Beegle moved up to a tie for 50th place after an eight stroke improvement from round one to round two. The Fishers, Ind., native shot a 76 on Saturday after carding an 84 on day one and has a total of 160.

The Big Ten Championships are being held at the par-72, 6,121-yard Donald Ross Course at the French Lick Resort. The third and final round of the Big Ten Championships will begin with tee times starting at 8 a.m. ET on Sunday. Purdue will be paired with Northwestern and Michigan State and will tee off beginning at 9 a.m.

The Boilermakers have won five Big Ten team titles (2000, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010) and the last five individual championships, which is a conference record. Michigan State earned the team title the last two seasons, with Purdue finishing in second place both times.

Live scoring is available at and a final recap will be posted to at the conclusion of the tournament.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago