Former Boilermaker to be Inducted in Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame
Equihua was a guard at Purdue from 1985 to 1989.

Dec. 28, 2012

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Former Purdue guard Anne (Kvachkoff) Equihua is part of an 11-member class to be inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame on April 27, 2013.

In high school, Equihua teamed with fellow 2013 inductee Nancy (Cowan) Eksten to lead Crown Point girls' basketball to two state championships. Equihua's 1,910 career points broke Cowan's school record and was the second best total in IHSAA history and is currently the 35th highest. The 5-foot-9 guard averaged 23.2 points, 10.4 rebounds, 7.4 steals and 6.8 assists as a senior and was named to the Indiana All-Star team. At Crown Point, her teams won four sectional championships, four regional championships, three semi-state championships, were runners-up in the state tournament in 1983 and state champions in 1984 and 1985.

At Purdue, Equihua played in 101 games and scored 630 career points. She was named the Most Valuable Player on Purdue's first NCAA Tournament team in 1989 and was selected as a member of Purdue's All-Decade Team for the 1980s. As a senior in 1988-89, Equihua averaged 9.7 points, 3.4 rebounds and 3.2 assists while shooting 43.4 percent from the field and 80.4 percent from the free throw line.

Currently teaching, Equihua is in her second season as head coach of the Crown Point girls' basketball team.

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame's Annual Women's Awards Banquet will be held Saturday, April 27, 2013. The day's events will include a free reception at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame museum in the afternoon and a banquet that evening at the Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis. Tickets for the banquet will be made available in early 2013. Call the Hall at 765-529-1891 or visit for more information or email .

2013 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Class
Laura (Lori) Augustyniak, Leo - 1978
Nancy (Cowan) Eksten, Crown Point - 1984
Annie (Kvachkoff) Equihua, Crown Point - 1985
*Kris Huffman, Fort Dodge (Iowa) - 1985
Joe Johnson, Ben Davis - 1969
Melissa (Kilgore) LaGrange, Rushville - 1983
Kim Land, North Central (Indianapolis) - 1979
Lisa Sanchez, East Chicago Roosevelt - 1980
Karen (Bauer) Stenftenagel, Jasper - 1979
Vicki Vaughan, Lawrenceburg - 1981
Alan Vickrey, Decatur Central - 1968



*St.Vincent Health Silver Medal Award recipient


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago