Moses Announced as Nominee for 2014 Allstate Good Works Team
Moses looks to become the second Boilermaker in as many years to earn a spot on the Good Works Team.

Dec. 3, 2013

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Purdue women's basketball senior Courtney Moses was announced on Tuesday as a nominee for the 2014 Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), Allstate Good Works Team. Moses is the second Boilermaker nominee in as many years and is one of 52 NCAA Division I women's players to be on the list.


"We're thrilled to see people take notice of what an outstanding human being Courtney is," said Purdue head coach Sharon Versyp. "The things she has done in our local community and around the world are only a snapshot of her unselfishness. We're lucky to have her at Purdue."


Former teammate Drey Mingo earned a spot on the inaugural WBCA, NABC, Allstate Good Works team last February, and was honored during the 2013 WBCA Convention and at the 2013 NCAA Women's Final Four in New Orleans.


In addition to international missionary trips to Haiti and South Africa over the past few years, Moses has been an instrumental member of the Purdue chapter of Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the Boilermaker Athletic Council. She's helped found a pair of local projects to help the Lafayette/West Lafayette community, starting the IMPACT project, which consists of student-athletes mentoring and tutoring at-risk children, individually throughout a full semester or year, focusing on creating a relationship that can change a child's life, and the Boiler-maker Wish group, which sets up an opportunity for a disabled or sick child in the community to spend time with a particular sport or athlete.


"Allstate is proud to recognize these two outstanding groups of men and women whose commitment to service and volunteerism demonstrate that `good works' extend beyond the basketball court," said Pam Hollander, senior director of marketing for Allstate Insurance Company and a member of the 2014 WBCA and NABC Good Works Teams® selection panels. "Each of the nominees serves as a role model and inspiration to future generations seeking ways to give back, and another reason to celebrate the good happening in our communities."




From the 84 WBCA nominees and 118 NABC nominees submitted by coaches and sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, special voting panels will select two 10-member teams comprised of five student-athletes from the NCAA® Division I level and five student-athletes from NCAA® Divisions II, III and the NAIA. WNBA basketball star Tamika Catchings, who played at the University of Tennessee, will headline the Allstate WBCA Good Works Team® voting panel, while former Duke University student-athlete, two-time NCAA champion and seven-time NBA All-Star Grant Hill will serve on the Allstate NABC Good Works Team® panel. The final roster of 20 award recipients will be unveiled in February.


In addition to Hollander, Hill and Catchings, the 2014 Allstate WBCA and NABC Good Works Teams® selection panel members include: former college basketball players Greg Anthony (UNLV), Mateen Cleaves (Michigan State) and Alana Beard (Duke); former head coaches Bobby Cremins (College of Charleston), Seth Greenberg (Virginia Tech), Marsha Sharp (Texas Tech) and Nell Fortner (Auburn); current college basketball coach Coquese Washington (Penn State); and media members Seth Davis (Sports Illustrated/CBS), Dana O'Neil (ESPN), Carolyn Peck (ESPN) and LaChina Robinson (ESPN/FOX).


More information about the Allstate WBCA Good Works Team® and the Allstate NABC Good Works Team® is available at and


NCAA Division I Women's Nominees

College of The Holy Cross - Alex Smith

East Carolina University - Ariana Jackson

Florida Gulf Coast University - Sarah Hansen

Florida State University - Natasha Howard

Fordham University - Abigail Corning

Furman University - Brigid Morrissey

Georgia Institute of Technology - Shayla Bivins

Harvard University - Kaitlyn Dinkins

Iowa State University - Hallie Christofferson

Kansas State University - Chantay Caron

Louisiana State University - Theresa Plaisance

McNeese State University - NeTanya Jones

Middle Tennessee State University - Janiece Johnson

Montana State University-Bozeman - Jackie Elliott

Norfolk State University - Jazamine Gray

North Carolina A&T State University - Tracy King

Northwestern University - Meghan McKeown

Purdue University - Courtney Moses

Rice University - Nakachi Maduka

Seattle University - Kacie Sowell

Southern Illinois University at Carbondale - Jordyn Courier

Stanford University - Chiney Ogwumike

Stephen F. Austin State University - Daylyn Harris

Texas A&M University - Karla Gilbert

University of Akron - Rachel Tecca

University of Alabama - Nikki Hegstetter

University of California-Berkeley - Avigiel Cohen

University of Delaware - Kelsey Buchanan

University of Denver - Theresa Wirth

University of Hartford - Alyssa Englert

University of Hawaii - Kamilah Jackson

University of Illinois - Sarah Hartwell

University of Iowa - Kathryn Reynolds

University of Kentucky - Kastine Evans

University of Louisville - Jude Schimmel

University of Maine - Elizabeth Wood

University of Massachusetts - Jasmine Harris

University of Miami - Maria Brown

University of Missouri-Kansas City - Eilise O'Connor

University of New Hampshire - Kelsey Hogan

University of New Mexico - Sara Halasz

University of North Dakota - Allyssa Wall

University of South Carolina - Elem Ibiam

University of Southern California - Cassie Harberts

University of Southern Mississippi - Niesha Pierce

University of Tennessee at Martin - Heather Butler

University of Virginia - Lexie Gerson

University of Wisconsin - Morgan Paige

West Virginia University - Jessica Harlee

Western Kentucky University - Chaney Means

Winthrop University - Taylor Calvert

Youngstown State University - Heidi Schlegel


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago