Moses, Houser Receive Preseason All-Conference Honors from College Sports Madness
Moses earned second-team honors from College Sports Madness.

Oct. 16, 2013

Follow PurdueWBB on Twitter

Full College Sport Madness Preseason Lists

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Purdue senior guards Courtney Moses and KK Houser received preseason all-conference honors from College Sports Madness on Wednesday, as Moses was tabbed a second-team pick, while Houser garnered third-team recognition. It is the first career preseason award from the publication for both Boilermakers, who represent one of the most veteran backcourts in the Big Ten this season.

"Preseason awards mean we're just about ready to really get things started," said Purdue head coach Sharon Versyp. "We know that Courtney and KK are great players and are set for big seasons, and it's great that others are taking notice of it as well."

Moses heads into the year already ranked 20th on the Boilermakers' career scoring record list (1,195 points) and has the 13th-best career scoring average in school history (12.0 ppg). She's the leading free throw shooter in school history, converting 90.0% (215-239) of her career opportunities, and ranks among the Boilermakers all-time best in three-pointers, assists and steals as well.

Houser is just 90 points shy of becoming the 28th player in school history to score 1,000 points, and has already proved herself one of the Boilermakers' all-time bests for assists and steals. She's 12th all-time with 340 career assists and 13th on the career steals list with 188, remaining just shy of Versyp in both categories.

College Sports Madness picked Penn State's Maggie Lucas for preseason player of the year honors, Nebraska's Connie Yori for coach of the year and Northwestern's Nia Coffey for freshman of the year. Joining Lucas on their first team all-conference group was Minnesota's Rachel Banham, Michigan State's Klarissa Bell, Nebraska's Jordan Hooper and Wisconsin's Jacki Gulczynski.

The Big Ten Conference Coaches' and Media preseason all-conference teams will be released in conjuction with Big Ten Media Day on Oct. 31.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago