Purdue Selected to Host NCAA Women's Basketball First & Second Rounds
This marks the third time the Boilermakers will host NCAA Tournament play under head coach Sharon Versyp.

Oct. 9, 2013

Follow PurdueWBB on Twitter

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Purdue has been selected as one of 16 hosts for the first and second rounds of the 2014 NCAA Women's Basketball Championship Tournament, as announced Wednesday by the NCAA. This marks the third time in the last seven years the Boilermakers have hosted NCAA women's basketball postseason action in Mackey Arena, following 2008 and 2012.

"We're excited to have the opportunity to bring our local fans more postseason basketball," said Purdue head coach Sharon Versyp. "Our staff has shown we can host a first-rate NCAA Championship event, and we're thrilled that they continue to bring games back to Mackey Arena."

The Boilermakers are 2-2 in NCAA Championship action at Mackey Arena under Versyp and 19-7 all-time. Purdue has advanced to the Sweet 16 six times when hosting the first- and second-round games, including their 1999 NCAA Championship run. The Boilermakers most recently accomplished the feat in 2006, topping Missouri State and UCLA as a No. 4 seed.

"It always gives the team a little extra incentive to know that if we're able to advance to the postseason we get to play at home," said Versyp. "We have some of the best fans in the country, and having their support on our home floor is always a great advantage for us."

The West Lafayette site will feature a pair of first-round games and one second-round contest as the NCAA moved to 16 four-team regional sites in 2009. The Boilermakers last hosted in 2012, welcoming South Dakota State, Eastern Michigan and South Carolina to Mackey Arena. Purdue topped South Dakota State in their opener, but fell to the Gamecocks in the second round.

The Boilermakers will host on either Saturday, March 22, and Monday, March 24 or Sunday, March 23, and Tuesday, March 25, 2014. Other cities selected to host first- and second-round games are Ames, Iowa; Baton Rouge, La.; Chapel Hill, N.C.; College Park, Md.; College Station, Texas; Durham, N.C.; Iowa City, Iowa; Knoxville, Tenn.; Lexington, Ky.; Los Angeles, Calif.; Seattle, Wash.; Storrs, Conn.; Toledo, Ohio; University Park, Penn., and Waco, Texas. The four selected regional sites are Lincoln, Neb.; Louisville, Ky.; Notre Dame, Ind., and Stanford, Calif. The 2014 NCAA Women's Championship will be held at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

Tickets for the preliminary rounds will be available for purchase no later than Nov. 16. A full release on the 16 first- and second-round sites can be found at NCAA.com.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago