Dunn to be Inducted into Women's Basketball Hall of Fame
Lin Dunn led Purdue to its first Final Four in 1994.

July 29, 2013

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame announced the Class of 2014, its 16th group of inductees, during the WNBA All-Star Game on Sunday. The six members of the Class of 2014 are: former Purdue head coach Lin Dunn, Michelle Edwards (player), Mimi Griffin (contributor), Yolanda Griffith (player), Jasmina Perazic (player) and Charlotte West (contributor). The Class of 2014 will be formally inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame on June 14, 2014 in Knoxville, Tenn.

Dunn was head coach of the Purdue women's basketball team from 1988 to 1996, leading the Boilermakers to three Big Ten titles, two NCAA Sweet 16's, the 1995 Elite Eight and the 1994 Final Four. She is the winningest women's basketball coach in school history with 206 victories, ranks second with a .752 winning percentage and is the only Purdue coach to never lose to intrastate rival Indiana (going 18-0). She coached 27 All-Big Ten players and nine All-Americans, including Joy Holmes, MaChelle Joseph and Stacy Lovelace, who received first team national honors. Dunn was chosen as Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1989 and 1991. She served as chairperson of the Kodak All-American Committee and as President of the WBCA, was an assistant coach on the 1990 World Championships Goodwill Team and the 1992 USA Olympic Team and head coach of the 1995 Jones Cup Team. Dunn went on to serve as head coach in the American Basketball League and subsequently as assistant coach, head coach and general manager in the WNBA. She lives in Dresden, Tenn., during the offseason and currently is head coach of the Indiana Fever in the WNBA.

Dunn has been a professional head coach for 11 seasons, leading the Indiana Fever to the 2012 WNBA Championship. She was named the 1998 American Basketball League (ABL) Coach of the Year and was the 2009 Runner-up for the WNBA Coach of the Year.

With the addition of the Class of 2014, the WBHOF will recognize the 1976 USA Olympic Team for their contributions to the game in a display at the Hall entitled "Trailblazers of the Game". The 1976 team will join the All American Red Heads, Edmonton Grads, the Former Helms/Citizens Savings/Founders Bank, and the Wayland Baptist Flying Queens as the only five groups recognized as "Trailblazers of the Game".



The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame's Board of Directors serves as the selection committee in determining which individuals will be inducted each year and which groups will be honored as "Trailblazers of the Game". Voting is based on various factors, which include moral character, integrity, sportsmanship, record of performance, ability, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women's basketball.

In order to be considered for selection for induction, an individual must meet the following prerequisites. For players, must be retired from the highest level of play for at least five years; coaches, must have coached the women's game at least 20 years; referees, must have officiated the women's game at least 10 years and contributors, must have significantly impacted the game of women's basketball.

For information regarding the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame or the 2014 Induction Ceremony please visit wbhof.com.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago