Dunn Inducted to Women's Basketball Hall of Fame
Dunn owns 669 career wins as a head coach

June 12, 2014

Dunn on her HOF Induction

ESPN3 Hall of Fame Induction Broadcast

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Former Boilermaker head coach Lin Dunn will be inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame this weekend in Knoxville, Tenn. Dunn led the Purdue women's basketball program from 1988 to 1996, piling up a school-record 206 victories, including 120 in Big Ten Conference play, and has 669 career victories (447 collegiate and 222 professional) spanning 43 seasons.

Joining Dunn in the 2014 hall of fame class are Michelle Edwards, Mimi Griffin, Yolanda Griffith, Jasmina Perazic, and Charlotte West. While at Purdue, Dunn led the Boilermakers to seven NCAA Championship appearances, including the first in school history in 1989. She took Purdue to its first Final Four in 1994, an Elite Eight in 1995 and the Sweet 16 in 1990 and 1992. She coached three Big Ten Championship squads, including an outright title and the first in Purdue history in 1991, and was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1989 and 1991. Dunn mentored several Boilermaker standouts in her tenure, including a trio of first team All-Americans in Joy Holmes (1991), MaChelle Joseph (1992) and Stacey Lovelace (1995).

Before joining the Boilermakers Dunn spent nine years at the University of Miami, where she accumulated a 149-119 record and guided the Hurricanes to their first-ever ranking in the Associated Press Top 20 in 1985, and their first Florida State Championship in 1981. Before Miami Dunn coached Austin Peay, where she started her coaching career in 1970, and Mississippi, leading the Rebels to 25 wins in her only season in Oxford.

She has been the head coach the Indiana Fever for the last seven seasons, and recently announced that the 2014 season would be her last with the franchise. The winningest coach in Fever history, Dunn coached the team to more than 120 victories and the 2012 WNBA Championship. Before coaching the Fever she served as the head coach of the Seattle Storm and her active streak of six straight WNBA Playoff appearances is tied for the longest in league history.



Saturday's ceremony is scheduled for 7 p.m. (ET), and will be broadcast live online via ESPN3.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago