Five Boilermakers Garner Big Ten Postseason Honors
Sam Ostarello was named second team All-Big Ten.

March 4, 2013

Big Ten Awards Get Acrobat Reader

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The Big Ten office announced the postseason women's basketball awards Monday and five members of the Purdue women's basketball team were among those honored by the conference coaches and media. The Boilermakers also had five student-athletes recognized with postseason conference awards in 1999, 2001 and 2009.

The Big Ten head coaches selected Taylor Manuel to the five member All-Freshman Team. Manuel becomes the ninth Boilermaker and the first since Courtney Moses in 2011 to earn all-freshman honors. The coaches also voted senior Drey Mingo and junior Courtney Moses third team All-Big Ten, while junior KK Houser and senior Sam Ostarello were tabbed honorable mention All-Big Ten by the coaches. The media named Ostarello second team All-Big Ten, while Moses was named third team All-Big Ten by the media and Mingo was named honorable mention.

Houser and Ostarello are earning their second career conference honors after garnering honorable mention All-Big Ten last season. Houser leads the Boilermakers in assists (138) and steals (55) and is the team's third-leading scorer at 11.1 ppg. The Lincoln, Neb., native is second on the team with 50 three-pointers and ranks 14th all-time at Purdue with 108 career threes. Houser also is 13th for career assists with 317 and is seventh in the conference this season, averaging 4.8 assists per game. The 5-foot-6 point guard has dished out five or more assists 14 times this season, including three games of career-high 10 assists.

Ostarello leads Purdue in rebounding, averaging a conference best 9.9 boards per game. The 6-foot-2 forward has pulled down double-digit rebounds a league-high 14 times this season, including a career-high 19 rebounds at Nebraska and versus Ohio State. She has recorded 10 double-doubles on the season, for 15 total in her career, tied for fourth and sixth in the Purdue record books. The Fort Pierre, S.D., native is fourth on the team in scoring, averaging a career-high 9.6 points per game and is second for blocked shots with 32 this season and with 120 in her career is ninth all time at Purdue for blocked shots.

Moses, Purdue's leading scorer at 13.2 points per game, is shooting 43.8 percent from the floor, including 38.1 from three-point range with a team-high 53 three-pointers this season. With 150 career threes, Moses is eighth on the school charts. The 5-foot-6 guard scored her 1,000th point on a three-pointer 19 seconds into the game against Northwestern on Jan. 24. She currently ranks 21st on Purdue's career scoring charts. Moses is the school record holder for career free throw percentage, averaging 89.8 percent from the charity stripe. The Sweetser, Ind., native holds the top two spots on the school record charts for season free throw percentage and is shooting a career-high 92.2 percent (71-of-77) this year. Moses also was selected as Purdue's Sportsmanship honoree.

Mingo is the team's second-leading scoring with an average of 12.4 points per game and second-leading rebounder at 6.3 boards per contest. She has scored in double-figures a team-high 23 times this season and has recorded five double-doubles on the year. The Atlanta, Ga., native has been awarded multiple national honors this season, including being name a finalist for the Coach Wooden Citizenship Cup and the Senior CLASS Award. She has been named to the Allstate WBCA Good Works Team, was a quarterfinalist for the CBS Courage in Sports award and the winner of both the Giant Steps Courageous Student-Athlete and the Methodist Sports Medicine Brady Comeback Scholarship Award.

Manuel leads the Big Ten in field goal percentage, shooting 53.0 percent from the field. She is Purdue's fifth-leading scorer, averaging 8.2 points per game and has scored in double-figures 11 times this year. Manuel is one of the Boilermakers' most efficient players, averaging just 16.2 minutes per game while one of only six players to appear in all 29 games this season.

The coaches named Nebraska's Connie Yori as Coach of the Year, while the media picked Penn State head coach Coquese Washington as the Big Ten Coach of the Year after she guided her squad to a second-consecutive regular season conference title.

Penn State's Maggie Lucas was named Big Ten Player of the Year by both the coaches and media, while Lucas, Rachel Banham (Minnesota), Jordan Hooper (Nebraska), Tayler Hill (Ohio State) and Alex Bentley (Penn State) comprised the All-Big Ten first team on the coaches' ballots. The media named Lucas, Hooper, Hill, Bentley and Illinois' Karisma Penn first team All-Big Ten.

Northwestern's Maggie Lyon was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year by both the coaches and media while Iowa's Melissa Dixon was tabbed Sixth Player of the Year. Adrienne GodBold of Illinois was named Defensive Player of the Year.

For the full list of the Big Ten awards, please see the PDF above.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago