No. 25/22 Purdue Earns No. 3 Seed in B1G Tournament
Head coach Sharon Versyp has positioned Purdue as a No. 3 seed.

March 3, 2013

Big Ten Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - No. 25/22 Purdue took care of business on Sunday for Senior Day with a 76-65 home win against Illinois to secure the No. 3 seed in the 2013 Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament to be held March 7 to 10 at the Sears Centre Arena in Hoffman Estates, Ill.

The defending tournament champion Boilermakers finished the season tied for third place with Michigan State at 10-6. Purdue split the season series with the Spartans but won the tie break by virtue of a win at Nebraska. Purdue needed some help to secure a first round bye, and got it when Ohio State defeated Michigan on Sunday, dropping the Wolverines 9-7 to a tie for fifth with Illinois. The Boilermakers have earned a bye in 18 of the 19 Big Ten Tournaments, only failing to do so when they were a No. 7 seed in 2011.

Purdue prevailed as the tournament's four seed last season, which was the Boilermakers' eighth tournament crown, double the number of titles of any other Big Ten foe. Purdue will play in Friday's second game, which will start at approximately 3 p.m. ET. The Boilermakers will face the winner of the matchup between No. 6 seed Illinois and No. 11 seed Wisconsin.

With its win over Nebraska on Sunday night, Penn State (14-2) secured its second consecutive outright Big Ten Championship and the No. 1 seed in the tournament. They will play their first tournament game in Friday's second session at 7 p.m. ET.

Nebraska enters the tournament as the No. 2 seed after compiling a 12-4 conference record and a 22-7 mark overall this season. The Huskers face their first competition in Friday's first game at 12:30 p.m. ET.

Fourth-seeded Michigan State finished its campaign with a 22-7 overall record. The Spartans' first tournament game is scheduled for approximately 9:30 p.m. ET on Friday.

Six conference teams have taken home the Big Ten Tournament title since the event's inception in 1995, led by Purdue's record eight titles. Ohio State owns four tournament titles, including three straight from 2009-2011. Iowa and Penn State have each won the title twice, while Indiana earned the crown in 2002 and Michigan State took home the title in 2005.

All-session ($80) and single-session ($15) tickets for the 2013 Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament are still available and can be purchased at the Kia Box Office at the Sears Centre Arena, by phone at (888) SEARS-TIX (732-7784) or online at

The full bracket is attached.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago