Midlands Next for Wrestlers
Dec. 28, 2017

Stats / Tournament Info / Brackets / Live Video / BTN2Go /  Live Video / FloWrestling

55th Ken Kraft Midlands Championships

Sears Centre / Hoffman Estates, Illinois

Friday, Dec. 29
Session I / 10:30 a.m. ET
Session II / 8 p.m. ET

Saturday, Dec. 30
Session III / 1 p.m. ET
Session IV / 8 p.m. ET

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The Ken Kraft Midlands Championships is an end of December college wrestling tradition. Apart from tradition, the 55th annual tournament will be contested at the Sears Centre in Hoffman Estates, Illinois, rather than Northwestern's Welsh-Ryan Arena due to facility renovations. No. 23 Purdue begins the two-day tournament Friday at 10:30 a.m. ET and Friday's evening session starts at 8 p.m.

Saturday's slate also features two sessions; the first starting at 1 p.m., followed by the finals, third- and fifth-place matches getting under way at 8 p.m.

All four sessions, finals included, will be streamed on BTN2Go and FloWrestling, both of which are subscription based.

Nearly 40 teams have been announced among the tournament field, including 16 that appear in the USA Today/NWCA Division I Wrestling Coaches Poll (12/20).

The Boilermakers have had at least one wrestler earn hardware in each of the last four years. Last year it was Alex Griffin, who turned in a seventh-place showing at 157 pounds. In 2015 Purdue had a pair of grapplers place. Chad Welch made Purdue history by becoming just the second Boilermaker to win an individual title, winning it all at 165 pounds as the No. 3-seed and Ben Thornton placed seventh at 125.

125 No. 18 Luke Welch RS Sr. 14-2 Newburgh, Ind.
Devin Schroder RS Fr. 11-3 Northview, Mich.
133 Ben Thornton RS Jr. 13-4 Stoddard, Wis.
141 Nate Limmex RS So. 10-7 Ada, Mich.
149 Austin Nash RS So. 4-9 Florham Park, N.J
Koby Reyes RS Jr. 4-9 Billings, Mont.
157 Griffin Parriott RS Fr. 9-4 New Prauge, Minn.
Cole Wysocki RS So. 7-6 Edwardsville, Ill.
165 Jacob Morrissey RS Sr. 10-8 Oconto Falls, Wis.
Mario Leveille RS Jr. 9-4 Chicago, Ill.
174 No. 15 Dylan Lydy RS So. 15-7 Indianapolis, Ind.
184 Max Lyon Fr. 9-5 Dyersville, Iowa
197 Christian Brunner So. 10-4 East Dundee, Ill.
285 No. 14 Shawn Streck RS Fr. 15-6 Merrillville, Ind.
Jacob Aven RS Jr. 4-6 Zionsville, Ind.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago