Trio of Boilermakers Receive Big Ten Honors
Mark Kovacs

April 24, 2014

EAST LANSING, Mich. - A trio of Purdue men’s tennis players were honored Thursday as the Big Ten men’s tennis All-Conference teams and individual awards were announced at the Big Ten Tournament banquet. Senior Mark Kovacs received the third All-Big Ten second team of his career and freshman Ricky Medinilla was also tabbed to the second team. Senior Aaron Dujovne was recognized as a Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Kovacs has gone 15-5 through the spring of his final campaign, including an 8-3 mark against Big Ten competition. He owns a 2013-14 overall record of 24-8 and a 16-3 Big Ten mark combined with his fall performance (9-3, 6-0 Big Ten). The Budapest, Hungary, native has also tallied a 12-10, 4-4 Big Ten record in doubles (spring: 8-8, 4-4 Big Ten; fall: 4-2).

Kovacs was also named to the second team during his freshman and sophomore seasons. With his third honor, he joined Cris James (1997-99) and Jason Marshall (1999-2001) as the only Boilermakers to earn three conference accolades.

In his first year for the Old Gold & Black, Medinilla has tallied a combined singles record of 23-11, 7-4 Big Ten. Throughout the spring campaign he is 11-8 and 7-4 against conference foes. Playing side-by-side with Szymon Tatarczyk this spring, Medinilla and the senior are ranked 73rd nationally and own an 8-4 record.

Dujovne was one of 12 student-athletes selected as Sportsmanship Award winners. The honor is bestowed to individuals that have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Illinois’ Farris Gosea was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, Northwestern’s Sam Shropshire earned Freshman of the Year honors and Ohio State’s Ty Tucker picked up Coach of the Year laurels.

Gosea received the top billing among Big Ten players after compiling a perfect record in conference singles play at 10-0. The Illini junior is currently the 17th-ranked singles player in the country, helping Illinois to a No. 2 seed in the conference tournament. Gosea’s award marks the sixth time an Illinois player has claimed the honor and first since Kevin Anderson in 2007.

Shropshire finished his first collegiate season with a perfect 10-0 conference singles record at the No. 2 position, making him the first Wildcat to go undefeated in Big Ten play in more than 20 years. Shropshire became the fourth Northwestern freshman to win the award and the first since Tom Hanus in 2002.

Tucker collected his ninth consecutive Coach of the Year award and 10th overall after guiding the Buckeyes to a 27-3 overall record and their ninth straight Big Ten title. Tucker led Ohio State to a perfect 11-0 conference record, marking the ninth season in a row that his team went undefeated in Big Ten play. With Tucker’s guidance, the Buckeyes captured their first ITA National Team Indoor Championship title in February.

Gosea was one of four unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections and was joined by Minnesota’s Leandro Toledo, Ohio State’s Peter Kobelt and Penn State’s Leonard Stakhovsky. Other first-team All-Big Ten members include Illinois’ Jared Hiltzik and Tim Kopinski, Michigan’s Alex Petrone, Michigan State’s Drew Lied, Nebraska’s Dusty Boyer, Northwestern’s Shropshire and Raleigh Smith and Ohio State’s Herkko Pollanen.

Also earning second team distinction were Indiana’s Sam Monette, Iowa’s Jonas Dierckx, Michigan State’s John Patrick Mullane, Ohio State’s Hunter Callahan, Kevin Metka and Ralf Steinbach and Penn State’s Russell Bader.


First-Team All-Big Ten
Jared Hiltzik, Illinois
Tim Kopinski, Illinois
Alex Petrone, Michigan
Drew Lied, Michigan State
Dusty Boyer, Nebraska
Sam Shropshire, Northwestern
Raleigh Smith, Northwestern
Herkko Pollanen, Ohio State

Second-Team All-Big Ten*
Sam Monette, Indiana
Jonas Dierckx, Iowa
John Patrick Mullane, Michigan State
Hunter Callahan, Ohio State
Kevin Metka, Ohio State
Ralf Steinbach, Ohio State
Russell Bader, Penn State
Mark Kovacs, Purdue
Ricky Medinilla, Purdue

Unanimous selections in CAPS; * denotes additional honorees due to a tie

Athlete of the Year: Farris Gosea, Illinois
Freshman of the Year: Sam Shropshire, Northwestern
Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker, Ohio State

Tim Kopinski, Illinois
Dimitrije Tasic, Indiana
Michael Swank, Iowa
Shaun Bernstein, Michigan
Aaron Pfister, Michigan State
Jack Hamburg, Minnesota
Marc Herrmann, Nebraska
Alex Pasareanu, Northwestern
Hunter Callahan, Ohio State
Matt Barry, Penn State
Aaron Dujovne, Purdue
John Zordani, Wisconsin




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago