MTEN Splits Final 2 at Indian Wells
March 19, 2017

INDIAN WELLS, Calif. – The Purdue men’s tennis team closed out its spring break trip to California with a 4-1 win over No. 45 Tulsa on Sunday. The Boilermakers dropped the doubles point, but rebounded with four straight singles victories to clinch the match; courts two and five were left unfished. Their win at the BNP Paribas Open Collegiate Tennis Challenge marks the team’s second over a ranked opponent this season and third at a neutral site.

Purdue opened the invitation-only tournament with a pair of losses, the later Saturday against No. 33 SMU. While the Boilermakers started off hot, securing the doubles point with wins on courts one and two, the Mustangs bested Purdue on the four lower courts. Ricky Medinilla’s court one match was left unfished, and No. 102 Gergely Madarasz defeated No. 56 Hunter Johnson 7-5, 7-5 on court two. It was his second over a ranked opponent at the Indian Wells event as the Boilermaker outplayed California’s No. 109 Filip Bergevi on Friday to win in straight sets.

Up next for Purdue is a trip to Northwestern on Friday for a noon ET match at the Combe Tennis Center.

No. 33 SMU 4, Purdue 2


  1. No. 18 Hunter Johnson/Yates Johnson (SMU) def. Stephan Koenigsfest/Dominik Sochurek (PUR_M) 6-4
  2. Ricky Medinilla/Benjamin Ugarte (PUR_M) def. Markus Kerner/Arkadijs Slobodkins (SMU) 6-3
  3. Gergely Madarasz/Athell Bennett (PUR_M) def. Tony Russell/Ronald Slobodchikov (SMU) 7-6 (7-4)


  1. Ricky Medinilla (PUR_M) vs. No. 50 Ronald Slobodchikov DNF
  2. No. 102 Gergely Madarasz (PUR_M) def. No. 56 Hunter Johnson (SMU) 7-5, 7-5
  3. Samm Butler (SMU) def. Benjamin Ugarte (PUR_M) 6-3, 3-6, 6-3
  4. Markus Kerner (SMU) def. Stephan Koenigsfest (PUR_M) 6-4, 7-5
  5. Yates Johnson (SMU) def. Athell Bennett (PUR_M) 6-3, 6-1
  6. Tony Russel (SMU) def. Renan Hanayama (PUR_M) 6-3, 6-4

Purdue 4, No. 45 Tulsa 1


  1. No. 43 Majed Kilani/Or Ram-Harel (TUL) def. Stephan Koenigsfest/Dominik Sochurek (PUR_M) 6-1
  2. Dominic Bechard/Okkie Kellerman (TUL) def. Ricky Medinilla/Benjamin Ugarte (PUR_M) 7-6 (7-4)
  3. Gergely Madarasz/Athell Bennett (PUR_M) def. Jarod Hing/Daniel Santos (TUL) 6-4


  1. Ricky Medinilla (PUR_M) def. No. 27 Or Ram-Harel (TUL) 6-0, 6-2
  2. No. 102 Gergely Madarasz (PUR_M) vs. Majed Kilani (TUL) DNF
  3. Benjamin Ugarte (PUR_M) def. Jarod Hing 6-2, 7-2
  4. Stephan Koenigsfest (PUR_M) def. Daniel Santos (TUL) 6-1, 7-6 (8-6)
  5. Renan Hanayama (PUR_M) vs. Mitchell Pritchard (TUL) DNF
  6. Athell Bennett (PUR_M) def. Kellerman (TUL) 6-0, 7-5




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago