Boudia, Hernandez Recognized As Athletes Of The Year

June 15, 2009

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Freshman diver David Boudia and senior golfer Maria Hernandez were named Purdue's Athletes of the Year on Monday. They were selected by a vote of athletics department administrators from a pool of candidates made up of each sport's Most Valuable Player or similar designee.

Boudia was named NCAA Diver of the Year after winning the 3-meter and platform national titles. The Noblesville, Ind., native became just the second Boilermaker to win a swimming and diving national championship and first since Keith Carter won the 200 breaststroke in 1949. Boudia, who finished second in the 1-meter at the NCAA Championships, swept all three boards at the Big Ten Championships on his way to being named Big Ten Diver of the Year, Diver of the Championships and Freshman of the Year. In addition to his postseason awards, Boudia also was honored with Diver of the Week honors a conference-record seven times during the 2008-09 season, which ended with him holding Doris Z. Holloway Pool, Big Ten and Purdue records in all three diving competitions.

Hernandez also received multiple honors after winning the NCAA crown. The Pamplona, Spain, native earned a one-stroke victory at the national championships to bring home the first women's golf individual national title in school history. Hernandez, who also won her second straight Big Ten individual title while leading the Boilermakers to their third conference title in her four years, was named the Honda Sports Award winner, PING/NGCA National Player of the Year and Big Ten Player of the Year. She finished her career with a school-record 14 tournament wins, including six in 2008-09, and was a three-time winner of the Mary Fossum Award for the lowest conference stroke average. In addition to her accolades on the course, Hernandez also was a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree.



Other male athletes receiving votes were Ben Harpenau (track and field), Brandon Haveman (baseball), Anthony Heygood (football), JaJuan Johnson (basketball) and Jake Patacsil (wrestling).

Other female athletes receiving votes were Stephanie Lynch (volleyball), Kara Patterson (track and field), Loredana Riverso (soccer) and Lindsay Wisdom-Hylton (basketball).

Boudia is now in the running for the Big Ten Jesse Owens Athlete of the Year award, and Hernandez is up for the Big Ten Suzy Favor Athlete of the Year award. Those will be voted on by conference media and announced Friday.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago