Season Recap: Boilers Post 9 New Records, Send 10 to NCAAs

April 22, 2014

Follow PurdueMSwimDive on Twitter

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. -- All-America honors for Layne Rogers, Jamie Bissett, Nate Cox and Lyam Dias along with nine new program records highlighted the 2013-14 season for Purdue men's swimming and diving.

Rogers, Bissett, Cox and Dias accounted for 21 team points to help the Boilermakers finish 27th of the 48 scoring teams at the national championship meet. Rogers earned All-America honors in 3-meter diving. Jamie Bissett (3-meter diving), Nate Cox (platform diving) and Dias (200 breaststroke) all garnered Honorable Mention All-America acclaim. Dias was Purdue's first swimmer recognized in an individual event since 2010.

The Boilermakers were represented by 10 student-athletes -- six swimmers and four divers -- at the national championship meet this year. Guillermo Blanco and Sean Mokthari joined the aforementioned four All-Americans as those to qualify for individual events. Austin Flager, Matt Friede, Adam Johnston and Danny Tucker teamed with Blanco and Dias in the relay events.

New program records were established by Filip Bujoczek (500 freestyle), Dias (100 and 200 breaststroke), Blanco (400 IM) and the 400 freestyle relay team of Friede, Flager, Bujoczek and Tucker. New freshman benchmarks were posted by Josh Brooks (400 IM), Bujoczek (200 and 500 free) and Flager (50 free).

Adam Soldati was named the national Diving Coach of the Year by after the Purdue men dominated the Zone C Diving Championships, which serves as the NCAAs qualifier. The Boilermakers had four of their five divers qualify, claiming four of the eight berths available in the process while competing among a field of 40 about men's divers. Cox won the platform competition on the final day of Zones.

Purdue finished sixth at the Big Ten Championships with 17 student-athletes scoring team points in the individual events. Bissett (34 points) was the top individual scorer after finishing as the runner-up in the championship finals of 1-meter and 3-meter diving. Bissett, Dias (32), Cox (18) were all named Second Team All-Big Ten after finishing as the runner-up in at least one event.

Blanco (24 points) scored in three events at Big Tens and was also named the MVP of the prestigious six-team Classic @ SMU in January as the top individual scorer in Dallas. The Spaniard broke the Purdue record in the 400 IM at SMU, a mark that had stood since 2007.

Dias' new record in the 200 breaststroke eclipsed a mark that had stood since 2005. He was selected to represent Team Canada at the Pan Pacific Championships in Australia in August 2014 after competing in the NCAA Championships and Canadian Swimming Trials in back-to-back weeks.

Tucker won the 100-meter national championship title at the 2013 U.S. Open in Southern California, claiming the Boilers' first title at yearly event. Friede and Tucker qualified for the NCAA Championships in each of their final three years at Purdue and graduated as part of record-holding teams in the 200 and 400 freestyle relays.

Bissett, Dias and Rogers joined Friede and Tucker as Boilers that were part of the NCAA Championships travel party for at least the second year in a row. Flager made it as a freshman.

Highlighted by victories against Notre Dame and Iowa, the Boilermakers were 7-3 in dual meets.

Purdue had the opportunity to travel to Honolulu for the annual winter training program this season. The Boilermakers spent three weeks during winter break training in Waikiki at the Iolani School's Dillingham Pool and also won an outdoor dual meet at the University of Hawaii.

Purdue will have to bid adieu to a number of talented and accomplished seniors, including Friede and Tucker, but is scheduled to return many experienced swimmers and divers for the 2014-15 season. Eight of the 10 team members that competed at NCAAs will be back, including Blanco, Cox, Dias and Rogers.

Layne Rogers - 3-Meter Diving

Jamie Bissett - 3-Meter Diving
Nate Cox - Platform Diving
Lyam Dias - 200 Breaststroke

Jamie Bissett - 1-Meter & 3-Meter Diving
Guillermo Blanco - 200 IM, 400 IM & 200 Backstroke; Relays
Nate Cox - 1-Meter, 3-Meter & Platform Diving
Lyam Dias - 100 & 200 Breaststroke; Relays
Sean Mokhtari - 3-Meter & Platform Diving
Layne Rogers - 1-Meter & 3-Meter Diving
Austin Flager - Relays
Matt Friede - Relays
Adam Johnston - Relays
Danny Tucker - Relays

Jamie Bissett, Third Team

Adam Soldati

Jamie Bissett
Nate Cox
Lyam Dias

Lyam Dias -- 100 Breaststroke (52.49) & 200 Breaststroke (1:53.06)
Filip Bujoczek -- 500 Freestyle (4:20.37)
Guillermo Blanco -- 400 IM (3:44.32)
400 Free Relay Team -- Friede, Flager, Bujoczek & Tucker (2:53.55)

Austin Flager - 50 Free (19.86)
Filip Bujoczek - 200 Free (1:36.36) & 500 Free (4:20.37)
Josh Brooks - 400 IM Free (3:47.02)

BIG TEN MEDAL OF HONOR (Male Honoree for All of Purdue Athletics)
Matt Friede

Jamie Bissett

Jamie Bissett - Two-Time Diver of the Week (Oct. 22 & Jan. 14)
Layne Rogers - Diver of the Week (Jan. 7)
Filip Bujoczek - Two-Time Freshman of the Week (Nov. 12 & Nov. 19)
Austin Flager - Freshman of the Week (Jan. 7)

Most Valuable -- Jamie Bissett & Guillermo Blanco
Most Improved -- Josh Brooks
Red Mackey Nominee (Excellence by a Senior) -- Jacob McGough
R.O. Papenguth (Sportsmanship) -- Danny Tucker
Captains for 2014-15 -- Jamie Bissett, Nate Cox, Jan Karel Petric & Manuel Gutierrez

Evan Barta
Manuel Gutierrez
Bo Ilgenfritz
Jacob McGough

Jamie Bissett
Matt Friede

Josh Brooks
Jan Karel Petric

Collin Baker
Evan Barta
Jamie Bissett
Matt Friede
Eduard Galdeano
Manuel Gutierrez
Nate Hopkins
Bo Ilgenfritz
Jacob McGough
Jan Karel Petric
Jim Riegger
Jes Stephens
Luke Trimmer

Purdue's Individual Scoring Recap at Big Ten Championships
Team Points Earned by Championship (A) & Consolation (B) Finals Qualifiers

1.) Jamie Bissett - 34 Points
1-Meter Diving - 2nd in Championship Final (17 Points)
3-Meter Diving - 2nd in Championship Final (17 Points)
2.) Lyam Dias - 32 Points
200 Breast - 2nd in A Final (17 Points)
100 Breast - 4th in A Final (15 Points)
3.) Danny Tucker - 27 Points
50 Free - 4th in A Final (15 Points)
100 Free - 7th in A Final (12 Points)
4.) Guillermo Blanco - 24 Points
400 IM - 7th in A Final (12 Points)
200 Fly - 3rd in B Final (6 Points)
200 IM - 3rd in B Final (6 Points)
5.) Layne Rogers - 20 Points
1-Meter Diving - 5th in Championship Final (14 Points)
3-Meter Diving - 3rd in Consolation Final (6 Points)
6.) Nate Cox - 18 Points
Platform Diving - 2nd in Championship Final (17 Points)
3-Meter Diving - 8th in Consolation Final (1 Point)
7.) Alec Back - 12 Points
1-Meter Diving - 2nd in Consolation Final (7 Points)
Platform Diving - 4th in Consolation Final (5 Points)
8.) Sean Mokhtari - 11 Points
Platform Diving - 8th in Championship Final (11 Points)
9.) Austin Flager - 10.5 Points
100 Fly -- T-2nd in B Final (6.5 Points)
50 Free - 5th in B Final (4 Points)
T-10.) Josh Brooks - 9 Points
400 IM - Won B Final (9 Points)
T-10.) Nate Hopkins - 9 Points
1650 Free - 9th Overall (9 Points)
12.) Filip Bujoczek - 8 Points
500 Free - 4th in B Final (5 Points)
200 Free - 6th in B Final (3 Points)
T-13.) Jan Karel Petric - 4 Points
400 IM - 5th in B Final (4 Points)
T-13.) Luke Trimmer - 4 Points
1650 Free - 13th Overall (4 Points)
15.) Danny Conway - 3 Points
400 IM - 6th in B Final (3 Points)
T-16.) Matt Friede - 1 Point
100 Free - 8th in B Final (1 Point)
T-16.) Adam Johnston - 1 Point
50 Free - 8th in B Final (1 Point)




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago