Season Recap: Purdue Posts Notable Team Wins & Divers Excel at NCAAs

April 16, 2011

Purdue Awards & Honors | Big Ten Season Recap

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – A program-record three divers scoring in the platform competition at the NCAA Championships and two more national titles for record-holder David Boudia highlighted the 2010-11 season for Purdue men’s swimming and diving.

Led by All-American performances from Boudia, Danny Cox and J.P. Perez in Minneapolis, the Boilermakers finished 16th at the NCAA Championships with 88 teams points. Purdue was third among the Big Ten Conference programs that scored at the national championship meet.

Boudia capped his college career by sweeping the springboard diving titles for the second year in a row. He was also runner-up in the platform, with Cox and Perez qualifying for the finals as well. As a rare accomplishment in the history of diving at the NCAA Championships, it was the first time in Purdue history that three divers reached the finals of the same event on the national stage.

Boudia was selected the NCAA Diver of the Year by the Collegiate Swimming Coaches Association of America for the third year in a row. He finished his career with six NCAA national titles, one shy of the Troy Dumais’ all-time record, after winning a pair at each of his three appearances at the national championship meet.

Diving head coach Adam Soldati was also honored by the CSCAA as the NCAA Diving Coach of the Year for the third year in a row. He was the Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year as well.

A new Purdue record in the 800 free relay established by the quartet of Ben Wachtel, Andrew Starr, Brian Kiel and Drew Wolfred at the Big Ten Championships highlighted the new benchmarks established by the swimmers. New freshman records were also set by Matt Friede (50 & 100 free), Kiel (100 & 200 back, 200 IM) and Eduard Galdeano (200 fly) at the Big Ten Championships.

The Boilermakers won the seven-team Purdue Invitational Nov. 19-21 in West Lafayette, outscoring nationally-ranked Ohio State and Louisville among others. At the Big Ten Quad at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center the final weekend of January, Purdue posted its first dual-meet scoring victory against Minnesota since 1988. The Boilers also topped Northwestern, Wisconsin, Notre Dame and LSU in notable dual-scoring action.

At the Big Ten Championships, Boudia swept the three diving events for the second time in his career. He became the first athlete to accomplish that feat twice since platform diving was added to the meet in 1988. Boudia was named Big Ten Diver of the Championships and Diver of the Year for the third consecutive year. He finished his college career with eight Big Ten diving titles.

Boudia won 30 of the 31 events he entered during the 2010-11 school year. He was named Big Ten Diver of the Week a conference-record nine times, increasing his career mark of weekly honors to 20. Albert Miller and Noah Pashley also garnered Big Ten Swimmer of the Week recognition. When Boudia and Miller swept the weekly awards on Feb. 8, it marked the first time a Purdue duo had accomplished the feat since 2004.

The Boilermakers will have to bid adieu to eight seniors as well as Boudia, but are scheduled to return a number of top performers for the 2011-12 campaign.

David Boudia – 1-Meter & 3-Meter Diving

David Boudia – CSCAA Diver of the Championships
Adam Soldati – CSCAA Diving Coach of the Championships

David Boudia – 1-Meter, 3-Meter & Platform Diving
Danny Cox – Platform Diving
J.P. Perez – Platform Diving

J.P. Perez – 3-Meter Diving

David Boudia – Diving
Danny Cox – Diving
J.P. Perez – Diving

David Boudia – 1-Meter, 3-Meter & Platform Diving

David Boudia – Big Ten Diver of the Year, Diver of the Championships & First Team All-Big Ten
Adam Soldati – Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year

800 Free Relay Team (Ben Wachtel, Andrew Starr, Brian Kiel and Drew Wolfred) – 6:28.45
David Boudia – 3-Meter Diving, 522.00 & Platform Diving, 557.90

Brian Kiel – 100 Back, 48.56; 200 Back, 143.93 & 200 IM, 1:48.23
Matt Friede – 50 Free, 19.98 & 100 Free, 43.71
Eduard Galdeano, 200 Fly, 1:46.09

Most Valuable – David Boudia
Most Improved – Benjamin Ziolkowski
Red Mackey (Excellence by a Senior) – Drew Wolfred
R.O. Papenguth (Sportsmanship) – Scott Dean
Captains for 2011-12 – Ben Wachtel, Albert Miller, Brendan Joyce

Diver of the Week: David Boudia (9 Times)
Swimmer of the Week: Albert Miller (Feb. 8), Noah Pashley (Feb. 15)

Mark Boman
Ryan Dafforn
Scott Dean
Dan Farrell
Wyatt Hodges
Zach Johnson
Brendan Joyce
Alec LaMothe
Daniel Michael
Albert Miller
Jimmy Page
Noah Pashley
Matt Stewart
Ben Wachtel
Drew Wolfred




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago