19 Boilermakers Score at Big Tens
Feb. 28, 2018

Full Scoring Breakdown / Complete Meet Results / Dive-by-Dive Scoring

MINNEAPOLIS - Conference titles for divers Steele Johnson and Brandon Loschiavo along with eight team records highlighted the Big Ten Championships for Purdue men's swimming & diving.

Nineteen student-athletes produced at least one scoring finish in an individual event. Together they helped the Boilermakers place fourth in the team scoring, matching the program's best finish at the conference championship meet. Purdue has now finished fourth four times in the last 10 seasons dating back to 2008-09. Prior to 2009, the program had not finished fourth since 1996-97.

Johnson was victorious on 3-meter, claiming his second career Big Ten title. Loschiavo won on both the preliminary and championship final rounds on platform, becoming the fourth Purdue diver to be a Big Ten champ. Joe Young also medaled for the Boilermakers, winning bronze in the 100 backstroke.

Young (67 points) eclipsed program records in both backstroke events and helped Purdue establish a benchmark in the 200 medley relay during his breakout meet. The junior placed among the top 12 in all three of his individual events, finishing second to only Johnson among the Boilermakers' scoring leaders.

Johnson (79 points) scored in all three diving events for the third time at Big Tens. His winning score (540.55) on 3-meter doubled as both a Purdue and conference record. He won bronze on 1-meter and was victorious in the consolation final of platform.

Adam Noens (49.5 points) and Trent Pellini (36) also scored in all three of their individual events. Pellini eclipsed team freshman records in the 100 breaststroke and 200 individual medley. He also swam the breaststroke on the record-setting 200 medley relay. Pellini became the first Boilermaker since Filip Bujoczek in 2014 to eclipse a pair of freshman records. The program record in the 100 breast had stood since 2001.

Fellow freshman Batuhan Hakan broke Bujoczek's program record in the 500 freestyle in the first individual event of the meet.

Joe Cifelli was a championship finalist in both springboard diving events for the third year in a row. He finished among the top five on both 1-meter and 3-meter this season, accounting for 51 team points to rank third on the team.

Marat Amaltdinov was an A finalist in the 200 breaststroke for the fourth year in a row but was unable to three-peat as a conference champion in the event. He still accounted for 33 team points by scoring in both breaststroke events. Noens also scored at Big Tens for the fourth year in a row, accounting for a career-high 49.5 points this season via three top-14 finishes.

Johnson and Loschiavo joined David Boudia and David Colturi (2010) as the only set of Purdue teammates to win Big Ten diving titles in the same season. Dating back to 2009, the Boilermakers have now won gold 12 times in the dive well at the conference championships. Five of those titles have come on platform.

With Amaltdinov and Johnson winning Big Ten championships last year, Purdue two difference conference champs in consecutive years for just the third time and first since 2009 and 2010.

Nick McDowell moved into third place in program history in both the 500 and 1,650 freestyle. His 1,000 split on the mile was also good for third best at Purdue. After not scoring as a freshman, he finished among the top 13 in both events to account for 31 team points.

Noens (400 IM), Pellini (100 breast) and Young (100 fly) accounted for the second-fastest times in program history with their career bests.

Chris Bals joined Johnson as Boilermakers to win a consolation final. Bals was victorious in the B final of the 100 breast with the fourth-fastest time in the team record book. Other top-five times or scores were posted by Erik Juliusson (100 fly, 200 IM), Bals (200 breast), Loschiavo (platform) and Noens (200 back). Juliusson and Nikola Bjelajac joined Young and Pellini on the record-setting 200 medley relay team.

Hudson Bursch was recognized as Purdue's Big Ten Sportsmanship honoree. The senior scored in the 400 IM.

Selected Boilermakers will compete Sunday at Ohio State's NCAA last ditch meet. Swimming qualifiers for the NCAA Championships are expected to be announced March 7. The divers compete at the NCAA Zone C Championships from March 8 to 10. That meet will serve as the NCAAs qualifier for the divers. Zones are also in Columbus and the NCAA Championships are back in Minneapolis.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago