20 Boilermakers Score at Big Tens
Feb. 28, 2017

Purdue Scoring Breakdown / Complete All-Session Results / Dive-by-Dive Scoring

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Conference titles for Marat Amaltdinov and Steele Johnson along with five new program records highlighted the 2017 Big Ten Championships for Purdue men’s swimming & diving.

Twenty Boilermakers accounted for team points in an individual event, including seven that scored in all three of their events. Amaltdinov repeated as the Big Ten champion in the 200 breaststroke. Johnson was victorious in platform diving for his first career conference title. Both were named First Team All-Big Ten. Johnson won bronze on 3-meter and finished in the top four of all three diving events. He was Purdue’s top scorer, accounting for 85 team points. Amaltdinov also won the B final of the 100 breast to account for 52 points, third best on the team.

New program records were established in 1-meter diving, both backstroke events as well as the 400 medley and 800 freestyle relays. Purdue set a new benchmark on all four days of competition. Kiki Komlenic broke the 100 back record twice, eclipsing it on the leadoff leg of the 400 medley relay Thursday (47.11) and again while winning the B final of the event Friday (46.97). He also established a new Purdue freshman record while becoming the first Boilermaker to post a sub-47 second time in the event.

Jake Thomas (1:43.24) scored in all three of his events and eclipsed Purdue’s 200 back record that had stood since the 2005 NCAA Championships. Louis Paul was the record holder. Paul’s name came up again Saturday as he had been the last Boilermaker before Amaltdinov to repeat as a Big Ten swimming champion, winning the 200 individual medley three years in a row from 2003 to 2005.

Johnson posted career-best list scores in all three diving events, eclipsing David Boudia’s program record on 1-meter (468.55) that had stood since Boudia won the NCAA title in the event in 2010. Johnson’s new benchmark stands at 470.05. Johnson also won the platform diving championship final with a score of 547.8, a new record at Ohio State’s McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

Senior Filip Bujoczek was part of both new relay records. He teamed with Josh Brooks, Josh Ehrman and James Boone for the 800 free relay record (6:26.91) on the opening night of the meet. Brooks and Ehrman helped the Boilermakers eclipse that team benchmark for the second time in their careers. The 400 medley relay team of Komlenic, Amaltdinov, Austin Flager and Bujoczek (3:08.59) broke the program’s longest-standing relay record, a mark that had stood since 2009. Bujoczek and Flager are set to graduate as part of relay records in three events. Flager scored at Big Tens in an individual event all four years.

Freshman Brandon Loschiavo also medaled for the Boilermakers, winning bronze in the platform diving competition. He also qualified for the championship final of 1-meter and won the consolation final of 3-meter, accounting for 71 team points to finish second on the team. Joe Cifelli (49 points) and Max Showalter (41) were also among the top five on the team in scoring. They teamed with Johnson and Loschiavo to make 1-meter (86 points), 3-meter (84) and platform diving (76) Purdue’s top three scoring events.

Individually, Brooks took fourth in the A final of the 400 IM. Adam Noens was also an A finalist in the event, helping Purdue rack up 56 team points in the 400 IM. It was the Boilermakers’ top-scoring swimming event of the meet.

Amaltdinov led the way as Purdue had four finalists in both breaststroke events. He did not break his program record time from his championship-winning race at Big Tens a year ago, but did post an NCAA automatic qualifying time. After forgoing his spot at the NCAA Championships last year to train for the Russian Olympic Trials, Amaltdinov will race at the national championship meet for the second time in his career in a few weeks.

Joe Young (24 points) joined Johnson, Loschiavo, Showalter, Thomas, Noens and Bujoczek as Boilermakers to score in all three of their individual events. All seven student-athletes ranked among the top 12 in scoring. Cifelli was a championship finalist in both of the springboard diving events.

Purdue finished in sixth place in the team scoring. The Boilermakers have finished lower than sixth only one time since 2004.

Purdue won the 200 breaststroke at Big Tens for the third year in a row. Amaltdinov accounted for the Boilermakers’ ninth conference title in a breaststroke event since 1996. Johnson did win a pair of NCAA championship in 2015, but this year he earned Purdue’s first Big Ten diving title since Boudia swept the three events in 2011. The Boilermakers have won 10 Big Ten diving titles since 2009.

The divers will compete again at the NCAA Zone C Championships the weekend of March 9 to 11 in Bloomington, Indiana. That meet will serve as the NCAAs qualifier for the divers. The NCAA Championships return to Indianapolis this year. The men’s national championship meet is set for March 22 to 25 at the IU Natatorium on the campus of IUPUI.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago