Four Score in A Finals as Big Tens Wrap
Danny Tucker won the B final of the 100 free Saturday.

Feb. 25, 2012

Saturday Results | All Meet Results

Dive-by-Dive Scoring | Championships Central

IOWA CITY, Iowa - Four Boilers scored double-figure team points by qualifying for A finals, and Danny Tucker and Albert Miller both won their heats in the evening finals, highlighting the fourth and final day of the Big Ten Championships for Purdue men's swimming and diving.

Matt Friede (100 free), Lyam Dias (200 breast), Brian Kiel (200 back) and Jamie Bissett (platform diving) were among Purdue top performers in the afternoon preliminaries to earn spots in the championship finals later that night.

Tucker won the B final of the 100 free with a Purdue season-best time. Miller captured the C final of the 200 breast.

Four Purdue divers - Sean Mokhtari, Nate Cox and Alec Back along with Bissett - teamed up to score a combined 24 team points on the platform towers Saturday.

Selected Purdue swimmers will travel to Columbus, Ohio, next weekend for OSU's NCAA Last Chance meet. NCAA Championships qualifiers will be announced in early March. The divers will look to punch their tickets to NCAAs a the Zone C Diving Championships, set for March 8-10 in Bloomington, Ind.

Final Team Scores
1. #4 Michigan, 738.5
2. #9 Ohio State, 552.5
3. #11 Indiana, 549
4. #16 Minnesota, 403
5. Iowa, 395
6. Penn State, 332
7. #17 Purdue, 316
8. Wisconsin, 225
9. Northwestern, 157
10. Michigan State, 113

Purdue Highlights
* - New Purdue Season-Best Time
+ - New Personal Season-Best Time
(B) - NCAA Provisional Qualifying Time

1650 Free
Jan Petric, 15:23.60* (B) - Finished 19th overall
200 Back
Brian Kiel, 1:43.63* (B, prelim time) - Finished 6th in A Final, 13 Team Points
Third Fastest Time in Program History
Guillermo Blanco, 1:44.16+ (B) - Finished 2nd in B Final, 7 Team Points
Fourth Fastest Time in Program History
Tyler Gertz, 1:45.42+ (B) - Finished 6th in B Final, 3 Team Points
100 Free
Matt Friede, 43.47+ (B, prelim time) - Finished 8th in A Final, 11 Team Points
Fourth Fastest Time in Program History
Danny Tucker, 43.44* (B) - Won B Final, 9 Team Points
Third Fastest in Program History
200 Breast
Lyam Dias, 1:57.63* (B) - Finished 6th in A Final, 13 Team Points
Matched his Fourth-Fastest Time in Program History
Albert Miler, 1:58.38+ (B) - Won C Final
200 Fly
Eduard Galdeano, 1:46.79 (B) - Finished 3rd in B Final, 6 Team Points
Jacob McGough, 1:49.28+ Finished Sixth in C Final
Platform Diving
Jamie Bissett, 379.80* - Finished Fifth in Championship Final, 14 Team Points
Seventh Best in Program History
Sean Mokhtari, 328.75 - Finished Fourth in Consolation Final, 5 Team Points
Alec Back, 322.35+ (prelim score) - Finished Seventh in Consolation Final, 2 Team Points
Nate Cox, 310.80+ (prelim score) - Finished Sixth in Consolation Final, 3 Team Points
400 Free Relay
Friede, Wachtel, Michael & Tucker, 2:56.03 - Finished 6th, 26 Team Points
Third Fastest in Program History




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago