Brouse, Dye To Enter Separate Hall of Fames
Devon Brouse will be inducted into the North Carolina Golf Order of Merit on Saturday.

Nov. 1, 2013

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. Devon Brouse and Pete Dye, two individuals synonymous with Purdue golf, will be inducted into separate Hall of Fames, announced by the University of North Carolina and the Palm Beach County Sports Hall of Fame.

Director of Golf Operations Devon Brouse will be inducted tomorrow into the University of North Carolina Golf Order of Merit for his role in leading the North Carolina men's golf team to a string of success in the 1980s and 1990s. The induction will take place at the A.E. Finley Banquet of the Executive Cup Golf Tournament which will be played Saturday at UNC Finley Golf Course.

Meanwhile, Pete Dye, the architect of the renowned Kampen Course at the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex will be inducted into the Palm Beach County Sports Hall of Fame on March 23, 2014. Dye has been the architect of some of the most-prestigious and top-ranked golf courses in the world.

Now in his 37th year as a college golf coach, Brouse is one of the finest coaches in collegiate golf as in 2009 he was inducted into the Golf Coaches Association of America's Hall of Fame and in 2012 he was inducted into the Women's Golf Coaches Association, the first person to be inducted into both the men's and women's halls of fame. He is in his 16th season as director of golf operations for Purdue's men's and women's golf programs and head coach of the women's team after returning to his alma mater in 1998. Until this year he also coached the men's team.

"It's obviously an honor to be recognized by an organization like the University of North Carolina," says Brouse. "I have been blessed to represent two great institutions in my coaching career the last 37 years. It will be great to see all the former players and play in the Executive Cup. Kathy and I are looking forward to it."

Brouse, a native of Indianapolis, earned a B.S. in agronomy from Purdue in 1971. He left UNC following the 1998 season for Purdue where he has led the Boilermakers to unprecedented success. Purdue's women's team captured the NCAA Championship in 2010 and Boilermaker Maria Hernandez won the individual title in 2009. Brouse's teams have captured six Big Ten team championships and seven Big Ten individual medals. Brouse has won five Big Ten Coach of the Year honors and was named the National Golf Coaches Association's and Golfweek's National Coach of the Year in 2006 and 2010.



Brouse was selected the ACC Coach-of-the-Year three times, 1981, 1991 and 1995, and was named District III Coach-of-the-Year in 1991 and 1995. He coached one NCAA champion, six ACC individual champions and 18 All-Americas named to those squads on 32 occasions. Three of those selections were three-time All-Americas - Frank Fuhrer (1979-81), John Inman (1982-84) and Davis Love III (1983-85). Brouse coached 20 players selected to the All-ACC team on 36 occasions.

The Tar Heels captured 55 team titles with Brouse at the helm and 67 individual titles were posted by his players in his 21 years as head coach. Some notable accomplishments during Brouse's career include John Inman (1981-84) winning the 1984 NCAA Championship and later awarded the 1984 Fred Haskins Award, emblematic of his selection as the national player of the year. Davis Love III (1983-85) won six collegiate titles, was a three-time All-America and All-ACC performer and went on to a storied career on the PGA Tour. Mark Wilson (1994-97) received the 1996 Ben Hogan Award for his athletic and academic excellence. Tom Scherrer (1990-92) was a finalist at the 1992 U.S. Amateur and a member of the 1991 United States' Walker Cup Team.

Brouse's UNC teams competed in 19 NCAA Championships, finishing in the top-10 10 times and the top-20 17 times. His teams captured six Atlantic Coast Conference titles.

Dye is without a doubt, the most well-known golf course architect in the world today. He has designed well over 100 golf courses, including the Kampen Course at Purdue University and Crooked Stick Golf Club in Indiana, Harbour Town Golf Links and Kiawah Island Golf Resort in South Carolina, Whistling Straits and Blackwolf Run in Wisconsin, the Des Moines Golf and Country Club in Iowa, Oak Tree Country Club in Oklahoma and the Atlanta National Golf Club in Georgia. In addition to designing courses in almost 30 states, he has created courses in the Dominican Republic, Guatemala and Israel.

Dye's 16 Indiana courses are the most of any state. The Kampen Course is considered one of the top collegiate courses in the country and it has hosted several events including the 2000 Men's Big Ten Championship, the 2003 Women's NCAA Championship, the 2004 Indiana Open, the 2005 Women's Western Amateur and the 2008 Men's NCAA Championship.

Dye received the 2003 Old Tom Morris Award from the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America, their highest honor. In 2005, he became the sixth recipient of the PGA Tour Lifetime Achievement Award. He was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in November 2008 in the Lifetime Achievement category.

The American Society of Golf Course Architects bestowed the Donald Ross Award on Dye in 1995, and he was named Architect of the Year by Golf World magazine, awarded a Doctor of Landscape Architecture degree from Purdue University, received Indiana's Sagamore of the Wabash award and was honored as Family of the Year by the National Golf Foundation.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago