In The Clubhouse

PURDUESPORTSDOTCOM Freshman Peter Richardson joins the boilermakers from Carlisle, England
PURDUESPORTSDOTCOM
Freshman Peter Richardson joins the boilermakers from Carlisle, England
PURDUESPORTSDOTCOM

Oct. 6, 2003

Where are you from?
I am from Carlisle, England.

What made you decide on Purdue?
I decided to come to Purdue because coach Brouse asked me to come on a golf scholarship.

How do you juggle practice, tournaments, and school?
To juggle practice, tournaments and school, I look at when I have classes and fit practice around them. This is because I have some classes in the afternoon, so they decide when I can practice. When I have a tournament I try to get the work done before I go away, so that I am ahead of the work, or I do it when I can, when I am away.

What is your major? Why?
My major is atmospheric chemistry because I took chemistry, mathematics, and geography and an A-level in the UK. Also, it is something that I am very interested in.

How old were you when you stared playing or how long have you been golfing?
I hit my first shot when I was three, but I probably started when I was eight. That means I have been playing for about 11 years.

Where or how did you discover golf?
My dad introduced me to golf. He enjoyed playing many sports, but because of his bad back, the physical therapist said to take up golf.

What is your handicap?
My handicap is a +1.5 on an English scale.

Who is your favorite pro-golfer?
My favorite pro-golfers are Tiger Woods, and Nick Faldo.

What is your favorite club?
My favorite golf club is my 48 degree pitching wedge.

What other sports do you enjoy?
I am interested in any sport really. I play soccer, basketball, cricket, pool, snooker, or whatever.

What are your hobbies?
Sports are my main hobby, but I am also into music and do a lot of stuff with dance music.