Quarterbacks beware.

Threatening the opposition's signal-caller is the goal of every defensive end: causing disruption, havoc and confusion to the offense.

Throughout its history, Purdue has produced many outstanding defensive ends, creating an institution unlike any other in college football - the Den of Defensive Ends. While the tradition dates to the days of Leo Sugar and Lamar Lundy, it has flourished more recently. Since 1999, eight Boilermaker defensive ends have been selected in the National Football League draft, including first-round picks Anthony Spencer in 2007 and Ryan Kerrigan in 2011.

Four members of the Den have gone on to play for Super Bowl champions: Keena Turner, Rosevelt Colvin, Cliff Avril and Rob Ninkovich.

The term Den of Defensive Ends was coined by senior associate athletics director for communications Tom Schott in 2004.

Cliff Avril, 2004-07
Akin Ayodele, 1999-2001
Rosevelt Colvin, 1995-98
Ray Edwards, 2003-05
Ryan Kerrigan, 2007-10
Lamar Lundy, 1954-56
Rob Ninkovich, 2004-05
Chike Okeafor, 1994-96, 1998
Shaun Phillips, 2000-03
Anthony Spencer, 2003-06
Leo Sugar, 1949-51
Keena Turner, 1976-79

Den of Defensive Ends


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago