Kerrigan Named Walter Camp All-America

Dec. 9, 2010

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Purdue's Ryan Kerrigan has been named a first team All-American, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced at the 2010 College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Fla. He is the first Walter Camp All-American at Purdue since wide receiver Taylor Stubblefield was feted in 2004 and the first Boilermaker defender since tackle Dave Butz in 1972.

The prestigious honor adds to a postseason awards haul that has seen Kerrigan named both the Big Ten Defensive Player and Lineman of the Year, as well as a first team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association and runner-up honors for the Ted Hendricks Award, given annually to the nation's top defensive end.

Kerrigan wrapped up the regular season as the national leader in tackles for loss (26.0) and third among all Football Bowl Subdivision players in sacks (12.5). He finished fifth for Purdue with a career-high 70 total tackles, the most by a defensive lineman in the Big Ten in 2010, and recorded five fumbles forced to improve his career mark to 14, a figure that ties for the most in FBS history.

His tackle for loss total was third-best in a season in Purdue history and his sack tally sixth. He finished with at least one sack in nine of the Boilermakers' 12 games, at least one tackle for loss in 11 of 12 and multiple TFLs in eight games. He ended up fifth in Purdue history with 57.0 career TFLs and tied for second with 33.5 sacks.

Kerrigan's most outstanding individual performance in 2010 came on Nov. 13, when he record 10 tackles, all solo stops, with 5.0 tackles for loss and 4.0 sacks against the high-powered offense of Michigan. He finished his Purdue career with 27 tackles, 10.5 tackles for loss, 9.0 sacks and four fumbles forced against the Wolverines.

He also terrorized Ohio State, which won outright or shared the Big Ten title all four years of Kerrigan's career, finishing with 20 tackles, 9.5 tackles for loss, 6.0 sacks and two fumbles forced in four games. He had 2.5 TFLs and a sack against the Sugar Bowl-bound Buckeyes in 2010.

Walter Camp All-Americans at Purdue

Elmer Sleight, T
Ralph Welch, HB

Roy Horstmann, FB
Paul Moss, E

Duane Purvis, HB

Dave Rankin, E

Bernie Flowers, E

Bob Griese, QB

Leroy Keys, HB

Leroy Keys, HB
Chuck Kyle, MG

Mike Phipps, QB

Otis Armstrong, HB
Dave Butz, DT

Mark Herrmann, QB

Travis Dorsch, P

Taylor Stubblefield, WR

Ryan Kerrigan, DE




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago