Leroy Keyes Named To Rose Bowl Hall Of Fame

Dec. 7, 2010

PASADENA, Calif. - Rose Bowl Game legends Brad Budde, Hayden Fry and Leroy Keyes headline the 2010 Rose Bowl Hall of Fame class to be installed at the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony presented by Wells Fargo at noon on Dec. 30, 2010, at the Pasadena Convention Center.

"We are honored to welcome another distinguished group into the prestigious Hall of Fame," said Tournament of Roses Executive Director Scott McKibben. "The Rose Bowl Game family is comprised of outstanding coaches and players who have graced the fields of our iconic stadium and we are thrilled to recognize their outstanding achievements through this induction."

The Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to honor members of the Rose Bowl Game who have contributed to the history and excitement of the game, and those who embody the best of the passion, strength, tradition and honor associated with The Granddaddy of Them All®.

Over the past 21 years, a total of 98 inductees have been added to the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. Inductees are honored by a permanent plaque with the name and year of induction at The Court of Champions at the Rose Bowl Stadium.

Brad Budde is one of University of Southern California's most highly decorated offensive linemen. Budde was the first true freshman to start since World War II. As a senior in 1979, along with being a unanimous All-American, USC Offensive Player of the Year, USC Most Inspirational Player and Academic All-American, Budde was selected as the first and only Lombardi Award winner in USC's history. During his career at USC, Budde started in three Rose Bowl Games; each time the Trojans were victorious. In 1978, led by the great Coach John Robinson, their Rose Bowl Game victory also earned USC a national championship.

In 1980, Budde again made history; as the eleventh pick in the first round by the Kansas City Chiefs. Budde and his father (Ed Budde) became the first and only father and son in NFL history to be drafted in the first round, to the same team and play the same position. For Brad, playing eight years in the NFL was the fulfillment of a life-long dream to follow in his father's footsteps. For 17 years, Budde, as President of Budde Physical Therapy, Inc. has rehabilitated senior citizens. In 2005, Budde founded Gameday Performance Systems Inc. bringing the fundamentals of high performance sports teams into the workplace. In 1998 Budde was inducted into the National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame and the USC Hall of Fame in 1999.



With Hayden Fry at the helm, Iowa's football program ranked consistently among the nation's best. As the Hawkeyes' head coach for 20 years, Fry led his team to 96 Big Ten game victories, league titles in 1981 (shared), 1985 (outright) and 1990 (shared), each time earning a trip to the Rose Bowl plus 14 other bowl appearances. Fry was responsible for bringing the Hawkeyes back to the Rose Bowl Game for the first time after a 23-year hiatus. Fry had a 143-89-6 record with the Hawkeyes (96-61-5 in the Big Ten) and a career mark of 232-178-10. He is Iowa's winningest football coach and was just the sixth football coach in Big Ten history to coach 20 seasons.

Fry was voted Big Ten Coach of the Year three times (1981, 1990, 1991) and has been named Coach of the Year, both regionally and nationally, by both the media and the American College Football Coaches Association. In 2003 he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. He has also been honored with the prestigious Amos Alonzo Stagg Lifetime Achievement Award. Since that time he has also been inducted into the Baylor Wall of Fame, the Peach, Sun and Holiday Bowl Halls of Fame and the North Texas State University Hall of Fame.

Purdue's Leroy Keyes was an outstanding running back and defensive back for the Boilermakers from 1966 to 1968. During his collegiate career, Keyes had many notable accomplishments. During his sophomore year, Purdue finished the season 8-2 and earned a berth in the Rose Bowl Game. As a junior, Keyes was named Most Valuable Player of the Big Ten Conference after rushing for 986 yards with 13 touchdowns and leading the Boilermakers to an 8-2 record. He amassed 1,870 yards total offense, the most in a season at Purdue. Keyes also became the first player in Purdue history to rush for more than 1,000 yards in a season (1,003) while equaling the school record with 14 rushing touchdowns as a senior. He was a consensus All-American in both 1967 and 1968, finishing third and second in the Heisman Trophy balloting. Keyes is the Boilermakers' career leader with an average of 5.88 yards per rushing attempt. He held the career rushing touchdowns mark, as well, with 29 before Mike Alstott bettered the mark in 1995.

Following his collegiate career, the Philadelphia Eagles selected Keyes with the third-overall pick in the 1969 NFL Draft.

Named both an offensive back and defensive back on Purdue's All-Time Football Team in 1987, Keyes was selected the school's "All-Time Greatest Player." He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1990.

Keyes served as an assistant coach at Purdue under Jim Colletto in 1995 and 1996 and subsequently has been on the staff of the John Purdue Club.

Tickets for the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are available by calling the Pasadena Convention Center Ticket Box Office at (626) 449-7369.

Following the induction ceremony and the Kickoff Luncheon on Dec. 31, the three inductees will be honored at the 97th Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO at 2:10 p.m. PST (5:10 p.m. EST) on Jan. 1, 2010, at the historic Rose Bowl Stadium.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago