Webster Named a Semifinalist for Ray Guy Award
Senior Cody Webster is one of ten semifinalist for the 2013 Ray Guy Award.

Nov. 8, 2013

Augusta, Ga.- The Augusta Sports Council has announced that Purdue's Cody Webster is one of ten semifinalists for the 2013 Ray Guy Award. The semifinalists were chosen from a field of 85 candidates for the award, which recognizes the most outstanding punter in college football.

Webster is currently 10th nationally and first in the Big Ten in punting average (44.8) and the Boilermaker punt unit is first in the FBS in net punting (43.1).

The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punter's net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned. A national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, who will be announced on November 25. Voters will then cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner.

2013 Ray Guy Award Semifinalists
Cody Webster (Sr.) - Purdue
Steven Clark (Sr.) - Auburn
Tom Hornsey (Sr.) - Memphis
Cameron Johnson (Fr.) - Ohio State
Drew Kaser (So.) - Texas A&M
Richie Leone (Sr.) - Houston
Cody Mandell (Sr.) - Alabama
Michael Palardy (Sr.) - Tennessee
Mike Sadler (Jr.) - Michigan State
Will Scott (Sr.) - Troy

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, December 12 at 7:30 pm ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award, The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award, and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago