Brees Named National College Scholar-Athlete

Nov. 1, 2000

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Purdue senior quarterback Drew Brees has been named to the 2000 class of National College Scholar-Athletes by the National Football Foundation and the College Football Hall of Fame. The class represents 16 of the nation's finest college football student-athletes from all divisions of college football.

Each scholar-athlete will be awarded an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship and will be honored at the Foundation's 43rd annual awards dinner held at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York on Dec. 12, 2000.

Brees, who carries a 3.41 grade-point average in industrial management, is one of six Division I-A recipients. The others are Air Force fullback Scott Becker, Brigham Young safety Jared Lee, Nebraska defensive end Kyle Vanden Bosch, Florida State quarterback Chris Weinke and Illinois tight end Josh Witman (a native of West Lafayette, Ind.).

To be eligible for a National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame postgraduate fellowship, the nominee must be a senior or graduate student in his final year of eligibility, have a grade-point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, have shown superior academic application and performance, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player and have demonostrated strong leadership and citizenship.

The 16 recipients were chosen from 182 candidates.

At the awards dinner, one scholar-athlete will receive the Vincent dePaul Draddy Trophy. Often termed the "Academic Heisman," the award provides the winner with a $25,000 scholarship towards their postgraduate studies. The 1999 recipient was Chad Pennington of Marshall.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago