Henry Nominated For Good Works Team
Purdue's Rob Henry is one of 132 players nominated for the Good Works Team nationally.

July 19, 2011

NORTHBROOK, Ill. - Purdue sophomore quarterback Rob Henry is among a record 132 nominees for the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) announced today. The award recognizes the selfless contributions to volunteerism and community service made by college football student-athletes across the nation.

Henry, who was voted a 2011 captain by his teammates following spring practice, is an active member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes at Purdue and has already served a humanitarian mission to South Africa to work with orphans from the AIDS epidemic. On the field, the Ocala, Fla., native became the first Purdue quarterback to lead the Boilermakers in both rushing and passing during his redshirt freshman year last season.

This year marks the program's 20th year honoring college football players at all levels of competition who stand out for their "good works" in the community. Since 1992, selection to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® has become the gold standard for off-the-field character and leadership for college football players. The honor is widely considered the sport's pre-eminent community service award.

"This program has grown dramatically throughout the years due to the volunteerism and commitment of these great student-athletes to their communities," said Mark LaNeve, Allstate Executive Vice President, Marketing & Sales Operations, who also serves on the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel. "To be associated with an award that reflects so positively on college football is an inspiration for Allstate, our employees and our agents, especially as the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® celebrates its 20th year."

While it is often college football players' on-field exploits that receive the most attention from fans and media, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® award shines a spotlight on student-athletes' efforts away from the playing field by sharing their stories of serving others.



From creating mentorship programs at local schools, to traveling on mission trips around the world, to donating bone marrow to a cancer patient, this year's Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® nominees boast some of the most impressive community service resumes in the program's history.

"The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team is one of the most important awards in college football because it highlights some of the best and brightest student-athletes in the country," said Grant Teaff, AFCA Executive Director. "With this being the 20th year of this outstanding award, it's great to see a record number of nominees sent in from some of the leading football programs in the nation. The AFCA is proud to share in this anniversary year with our partners at Allstate."

From the nominees submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, a special voting panel consisting of former Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members will select two 11-player Good Works Teams® - one comprising of players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and another representing players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA. The 22 student-athletes named to the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® will be announced in late September.

After a successful first-year partnership with ESPN.com, Allstate and the AFCA will re-launch its customized Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® website featuring profiles and images of the final team members, as well as an opportunity for fans to vote for the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain.

The 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes: former Good Works Team® members Alex Van Pelt (Pittsburgh, 1992 team), Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Grant Irons (Notre Dame, 1999 team), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team); media members Lou Holtz (ESPN), Rece Davis (ESPN), Tom O'Toole (USA Today), Gary Shelton (St. Petersburg Times), Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); current AFCA President and Montana State University Head Coach Rob Ash; 1987 AFCA President LaVell Edwards, former head coach at Brigham Young University; and Allstate Executive Vice President, Marketing & Sales Operations, Mark LaNeve.

In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and the AFCA, each player must be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization, service group or community service while maintaining good academic standing.

The following players have been nominated for consideration to be named to the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®.

Football Bowl Subdivision
Air Force Academy - A.J. Wallerstein
Arizona State University - Aaron Pflugrad
Auburn University - T'Sharvan Bell
Baylor University - Robert Griffin
Boise State University - Chris Potter
Bowling Green State University - Ronnie Goble
Central Michigan University - Cody Wilson
Clemson University - Dwayne Allen
Colorado State University - Ivory Herd
Georgia Institute of Technology - Roddy Jones
Indiana University - Leon Beckum
Iowa State University - Jake Knott
Kansas State University - Tysyn Hartman
Middle Tennessee State University - Alan Gendreau
North Carolina State University - Asa Watson
Northwestern University - Alexander Netter
Oklahoma State University - Brandon Weeden
Oregon State University - Johnny Hekker
Purdue University - Rob Henry
Rice University - Kyle Martens
Rutgers University - Scott Vallone
Southern Methodist University - Kelvin Beachum
Syracuse University - Adam Harris
Temple University - Wayne Tribue
Texas A&M University - Ryan Tannehill
Texas Christian University - Jeff Olson
University of Arizona - Nick Foles
University of Central Florida - Ronnie Weaver
University of Cincinnati - J.K. Schaffer
University of Colorado - Brian Lockridge
University of Florida - Jeff Demps
University of Georgia - Aron White
University of Iowa - Eric Guthrie
University of Kentucky - Jacob Lewellen
University of Louisville - Greg Scruggs
University of Memphis - Michael Antonescu
University of Michigan - Patrick Omameh
University of Minnesota - Donald Wilhite
University of Mississippi - Jason Jones
University of Missouri - Michael Egnew
University of Nebraska - Jared Crick
University of Nevada - Las Vegas - Nate Carter
University of North Carolina - Matt Merletti
University of Notre Dame - Dayne Crist
University of Pittsburgh - Andrew Taglianetti
University of South Carolina - Kenny Miles
University of South Florida - Chaz Hine
University of Southern California - Matt Barkley
University of Texas - Emmanuel Acho
University of Toledo - Eric Page
University of Utah - Tony Bergstrom
University of Virginia - Chase Minnifield
Utah State University - Eric Moats
West Virginia University - Keith Tandy
Western Kentucky University - Jack Doyle
Western Michigan University - John Potter


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago