Allen, Short Named To Bednarik Watch List
Ricardo, Allen, along with teammate Kawann Short, has been named to the 2012 Watch List for the Bednarik Award.

July 9, 2012

2012 Bednarik Award Watch List Get Acrobat Reader

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Purdue's Ricardo Allen and Kawann Short have been named among the 65 Football Bowl Subdivision players to the watch for the 2012 Chuck Bednarik Award. The Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995.

Allen, a junior cornerback from Daytona Beach, Fla., led Purdue with three interceptions in 2011, including one for a touchdown against Minnesota on Oct. 8. His pick-six against the Gophers was the third of his career, tying him for the all-time school record of three in merely his 17th collegiate game. He finished fourth for Purdue with 81 total tackles in 2011, including 3.0 for losses, and had seven passes defended.

Short, a defensive tackle from East Chicago, Ind., enters his final season at Purdue 15th all-time in school history in tackles for loss (33.5) and sacks (12.5). He is coming off a junior year that saw him finish with career highs in tackles (54), tackles for loss (17.0) and sacks (6.5). He led Purdue in both TFLs and sacks in 2011.

Purdue is one of merely 19 of the 120 FBS schools to have two or more players listed on the national watch list for the Bednarik Award and one of seven Big Ten Conference schools with at least one player represented.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced October 29, and the three finalists for the award will be unveiled November 19. The winners of the 2012 Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on December 6. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 1, 2013.

The watch list candidates were chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2012 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

Purdue will open the 2012 season on Sept. 3, when it hosts Eastern Kentucky at 3:30 p.m. in Ross-Ade Stadium.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago