Kerrigan Named To Lombardi Award Watch List

April 29, 2010

Lombardi Award Web Site

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind.- Purdue's Ryan Kerrigan is among those cited on the preliminary watch list for the 2010 Rotary Lombardi Award.

Kerrigan, who will be a senior for the Boilermakers in the fall, is coming off a 2009 season in which he recorded 66 total tackles, including 18.5 for losses, and a Big Ten-high 13 sacks. Additionally, his seven fumbles forced led all Football Bowl Subdivision players. He was a first team All-Big Ten selection by the media and a second team member by the league coaches.

Kerrigan's 21 career sacks places him in a tie with Anthony Spencer fifth on the all-time list and 14 shy of Rosevelt Colvin's record of 35.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage.

The candidates earned a place on the preliminary watch list by earning All-American honors or by being named to their respective all-conference first team as selected by the conference's head coaches. The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List will be updated prior to the start of the 2010 season in order to identify those players who have been selected as pre-season honors candidates.

While the Watch List highlights those players who have already received national recognition, any Division 1 player who meets the requirements is eligible for consideration from the Rotary Lombardi Selection Committee. This committee is comprised of more than 500 members, including all past winners and finalists, all Division 1-A head coaches and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

The Rotary Lombardi Watch List, intended as a reference tool for the Selection Committee, will be periodically updated and revised through the conclusion of the voting to determine the 12 Semifinalists for 2010.



Last year's Rotary Lombardi Award winner, Ndamukong Suh (Nebraska) was picked second overall by the Detroit Lions and finalist Gerald McCoy (OU) by Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the First Round of the NFL Draft.

The 41st Rotary Lombardi Award will be held on December 7- 8, 2010 at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston, Texas. For more information on the two-day schedule of events, please visit


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago