Kerrigan Selected By Washington In First Round

April 28, 2011

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - All-American defensive end Ryan Kerrigan became Purdue's 21st first round selection when he was tabbed 16th overall by the Washington Redskins at the NFL Draft in New York City Thursday night. His draft position is the highest for any Purdue player since Rod Woodson was picked 10th in 1987.

Kerrigan's selection marks the third first round pick of a Boilermaker in the last five drafts and the 14th consecutive year Purdue has had at least one player selected by an NFL team. Defensive end Anthony Spencer was selected with the 26th pick by the Dallas Cowboys in 2007 and tight end Dustin Keller was picked 30th overall by the New York Jets in 2008.

Kerrigan, who became Purdue's first unanimous All-American in 30 years after the 2010 season, wrapped up his collegiate career tied for the all-time Football Bowl Subdivision lead with 14 fumbles forced, tied for second in school history with 33.5 sacks and is fifth at Purdue with 57.0 career tackles for loss.

Voted the 2010 Big Ten Defensive Player and Lineman of the Year, he finished his senior season as the nation's leader in TFLs with 26.0, while leading the Big Ten Conference with 13.5 sacks. He led the nation in fumbles forced as a junior in 2009.

Mark Fischer is the last Boilermaker drafted by Washington.

Purdue's All-Time NFL First Round Draft Picks
1937 - Johnny Drake, B, Cleveland Rams - 10th
1938 - Cecil Isbell, B, Green Bay Packers - 7th
1955 - Tom Bettis, G, Green Bay Packers - 5th
1957 - Len Dawson, QB, Pittsburgh Steelers - 5th
1963 - Don Brumm, DE, St. Louis Cardinals - 13th
1966 - Jerry Shay, T, Minnesota Vikings - 7th
1967 - Bob Griese, QB, Miami Dolphins - 4th
1967 - John Charles, DB, Boston Patriots - 21st
1969 - Leroy Keyes, RB, Philadelphia Eagles - 3rd
1970 - Mike Phipps, QB, Cleveland Browns - 3rd
1973 - Dave Butz, DT, St. Louis Rams - 5th
1973 - Otis Armstrong, RB, Denver Broncos - 9th
1973 - Darryl Stingley, WR, New England Patriots - 19th
1975 - Larry Burton, WR, New Orleans Saints - 7th
1976 - Mike Pruitt, RB, Cleveland Browns - 7th
1976 - Ken Novak, DT, Baltimore Colts - 20th
1986 - Jim Everett, QB, Houston Oilers - 3rd
1987 - Rod Woodson, DB, Pittsburgh Steelers - 10th
2007 - Anthony Spencer, DE, Dallas Cowboys - 26th
2008 - Dustin Keller, TE, New York Jets - 30th
2010 - Ryan Kerrigan, DE, Washington Redskins - 16th




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago