Brees Added to NFC Pro Bowl Team
Jan. 24, 2017

2017 Purdue Football Schedule / Purdue Football Master Plan

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Former Purdue quarterback Drew Brees (1997-2000) has been added to the NFC Pro Bowl team.

It marks Brees’ 10th overall Pro Bowl selection and franchise-record ninth as a member of the New Orleans Saints. He replaces Matt Ryan of the Atlanta Falcons, whose team has advanced to the Super Bowl.

This season - his 16th in the NFL and 11th with the Saints - Brees led the NFL with 5,208 passing yards, a league-record 471 completions and 673 passing attempts. He surpassed the 5,000-yard plateau for the fifth time in his career (he’s the only player in NFL history to do so more than once), and this season’s total ranks fourth in league annals. He has led the league or tied for the league lead in passing yards seven times. Brees ranked second with a .700 completion percentage, third with 37 passing touchdowns and fifth with a 101.7 passer rating.

For his career, Brees has played in 233 games (232 starts) and completed 5,836 of 8,758 attempts (66.6 percent) for 66,111 yards, 465 touchdowns and a 96.3 passer rating. He is the NFL’s all-time most-accurate passer, ranks third in completions, passing yardage and touchdown passes, and is seventh in rating.

Two other Boilermakers - Cliff Avril of the Seattle Seahawks and Ryan Kerrigan of the Washington Redskins - were selected to the Pro Bowl when the teams were announced in December. Kerrigan will not play because of an elbow injury.

The other NFC Pro Bowl quarterbacks are Washignton’s Kirk Cousins (who has replaced Aaron Rodgers) and Dak Prescott of the Dallas Cowboys.

This season’s Pro Bowl will feature a return to the traditional AFC vs. NFC game format following three years using a revised “unconferenced” format.

The Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 29 at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida. Kickoff is set for 8 p.m. ET, and the game will be televised by ESPN.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago