Boilermakers' 2014-15 Big Ten Schedule Released by League Office
Basil Smotherman and the Boilermakers host Minnesota in the Big Ten opener on Dec. 31.
Aug. 21, 2014

2014-15 Schedule (PDF) | 2014-15 Tickets

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. -- The Big Ten Conference has announced its 2014-15 composite schedule, releasing the dates of the Boilermakers' 18-game conference slate. The announcement completes Purdue's 31-game regular-season schedule that will start Nov. 14 against Samford in Mackey Arena following exhibition games on Nov. 2 against Cal (Pa.) and Nov. 7 vs. Carroll (Mont.).

Purdue's single-play Big Ten opponents consist of Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska, Northwestern, Penn State and Wisconsin, while the Boilermakers will have home-and-home series with Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota, Ohio State and Rutgers.

Purdue will open Big Ten play for the third straight year and for the second straight time on New Year's Eve when Minnesota comes to Mackey Arena. Purdue's 99 wins against the Golden Gophers are the second most against an opponent and the 180 meetings make it the eighth-most frequently-played rivalry in the Big Ten Conference.

A year ago, the two teams played a pair of three-point contests with each squad winning on its home floor, including a triple-overtime victory by Purdue in early February.

Purdue will turn the calendar over to 2015 at home on Jan. 3, when defending Big Ten champion Michigan visits for the only meeting between the two squads. Michigan edged the Boilermakers, 77-76, in overtime at Mackey Arena last year, but Purdue leads the overall series by an 83-66 margin.

The Boilermakers hit the road for the first time in Big Ten play on Wednesday, Jan. 7 with its only contest against 2014 Final Four participant Wisconsin in Madison. Purdue owns a 105-67 series lead against the Badgers.

Three days later on Jan. 10 in Mackey Arena, Purdue will face Big Ten newcomer Maryland for the first time in school history. Of all the teams in the power-five conferences (Big Ten, ACC, SEC, PAC-12, Big 12), Maryland is the only school that Purdue has not faced.

The Boilermakers open a two-game roadswing on Jan. 17 with trips to Penn State (Jan. 17) and Illinois (Jan. 21). Purdue and Penn State split the season series a year ago while Purdue edged the Illini in the only meeting in Champaign last year.

Purdue returns home for its next two games as Iowa visits on Jan. 24 and Indiana comes to Mackey Arena on Jan. 28. Purdue lost its only meeting with Iowa last year in Iowa City, 83-76, but leads the all-time series, 86-73, while the Boilermakers topped Indiana, 82-64, in Mackey a year ago and lead the series, 113-88, in the most frequently-played Big Ten rivalry to date.

On Saturday, Jan. 31, Purdue heads to Evanston, Ill., to face Northwestern to wrap up the first half of league play.

Purdue begins the second half of league play by hosting Ohio State on Wednesday, Feb. 4. The Buckeyes are the only Big Ten school to own a winning all-time record against the Boilermakers, owning an 88-83 advantage.

Purdue then closes out the season series with Minnesota on Feb. 7, when the Boilermakers return a trip to Minneapolis.

On Thursday, Feb. 12, Purdue begins its Big Ten rivalry with Rutgers when the Boilermakers visit the state of New Jersey for the first time since the 1999 NCAA Tournament and their first visit to Piscataway since 1954. The two teams haven't faced each other since a 98-65 Purdue win in the 1982 NIT Tournament. The three other meetings came in 1953, 1954 and 1975 as the Boilermakers own a 3-1 series lead. Nebraska will visit Mackey Arena on Sunday, Feb. 15, for the only meeting between the two teams. The Boilermakers and Huskers split last season with each squad winning on their respective home court.

Purdue will return its game with Indiana on Feb. 19, in Bloomington, the Boilermakers' first visit to Assembly Hall since the 2012-13 season, before closing out the series with Rutgers in Mackey Arena on Feb. 26.

The Boilermakers will hit the road for two straight contests at Ohio State (March 1) and Michigan State (March 4) before wrapping up the regular season on March 7 at home against Illinois.

The Big Ten Tournament will move to a new format in 2015 with the addition of Maryland and Rutgers to the league. The first-round games featuring teams seeded 11th through 14th will play on Wednesday evening, while second-round games featuring the two winners from Wednesday as well as teams seeded fifth through 10th will be played on Thursday. The quarterfinals, semifinals and finals will all remain under the same format.

The Boilermakers return five players that started at least two games a year ago and welcome in a highly-regarded five-member recruiting class for the 2014-15 season. Season tickets are now available by visiting or by calling 1-800-49-SPORT (77678).





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago