Field Finalized For 2011 Puerto Rico Tip-Off

April 27, 2011

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The Puerto Rico Tip-Off, an annual destination event, has secured all eight teams for the 2011 edition of the tournament, to be held from Nov. 17-20 at the Coliseo de Puerto Rico in the cosmopolitan Hato Rey district of San Juan.

The field for the fifth-annual Puerto Rico Tip-Off will include Alabama, Colorado, Iona, Maryland, Purdue, Temple, Western Michigan and Wichita State.

Both Purdue and Temple reached the third round of the 2011 NCAA Tournament. Wichita State topped Alabama in the NIT championship game, after the Crimson Tide defeated Colorado in the semifinals. Iona and Western Michigan both earned berths to the Postseason Tournament.

The 2011 Puerto Rico Tip-Off, a bracket-format tournament, will feature 12 games over three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, with the two teams that remain undefeated meeting in a championship game on Sunday, Nov. 20.

For the fifth-straight year, the BIG EAST will serve as the event’s sponsoring conference. Additional information, including travel packages, can be found at





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago