Johnson, Moore Honored By NABC In Houston

April 2, 2011

HOUSTON - Purdue seniors JaJuan Johnson and E'Twaun Moore were among a group of college basketball's elite honored on Saturday morning in Houston by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). Johnson earned first-team All-America honors and the Pete Newell Big Man Award, while Moore received third-team All-America billing.

Both Johnson and Moore were in Houston to receive their accolades and participate in events put on by both the NABC and representatives of the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, for which Moore is one of 10 national finalists.

Having already become the 17th first-team All-American in the history of Purdue basketball, the Indianapolis native is also the first consensus honoree the program has seen since Glenn Robinson in 1994.

In order to earn consensus distinction, a player must earn first-team accolades from a majority of the following organizations: Associated Press, National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), Sporting News and United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). Johnson received first-team honors from all four organizations.

Johnson also became the 12th winner of the Pete Newell Big Man Award, presented annually by the NABC to the nation's top post player as voted by its membership. He is the first Purdue player to ever win the award, which includes David West, Emeka Okafor, Greg Oden, Michael Beasley and Blake Griffin among its past recipients.

Johnson was named Big Ten Player of the Year after leading the league in scoring in conference play with an average of 20.7 points per game, also marking the first time a Boilermaker had done so since Robinson in 1994. Johnson's corresponding first-team All-Big Ten selection was his second, and his third All-Big Ten nod overall. He also took home Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year honors and was named to the Big Ten All-Defensive Team after pacing the league in blocked shots (2.5).



Johnson also ranked third in total rebounds (8.3), defensive rebounds (6.1) and free throw percentage (.876), fifth in offensive rebounds (2.3), 11th in steals (0.9) and 14th in field goal percentage (.482) in Big Ten games.

He posted 12 double-doubles during the season, and led the conference with 22 20-point scoring games on the year. He finished his career on a streak of 43-consecutive games with double-figure points, the fifth-longest streak in program history.

Johnson was also the lone player in Division I this season with 1,800 points, 850 rebounds, and 250 blocks for his career. He finished ninth on Purdue's single-season scoring (698) and rebounding (291) charts, making him one of just four Purdue players to rank in the top 15 of both lists.

Johnson has also been named the USBWA District V Player of the Year, an All-District 7 selection by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) and a first-team All-American by virtually every national publication.

A native of East Chicago, Ind., Moore earned his second All-America honor of the season, and third of his career with Saturday's announcement. He has also been an honorable mention pick by the AP each of the last two years, making him one of just 13 players in program history to be named an All-American in multiple seasons.

Moore was once again one of the league's most consistent performers in 2011, ranking third in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.18), sixth in scoring (17.7), seventh in three-point field goals per game (2.28), ninth in three-point field goal percentage (.406) and steals (1.0), 11th in assists (3.4), 18th in rebounding (4.7) and 25th in free throw percentage (.687) in Big Ten games.

Over the course of his senior season, the East Chicago, Ind., native became the fifth player in program history to break the 2,000-point barrier, and the third player in Big Ten history to accrue 2,000 points, 500 rebounds and 400 assists for his career. He also eclipsed the 1,000-point mark in Big Ten games only, the first Boilermaker to do so since Cuonzo Martin in 1995.

Moore earned his second first-team All-Big Ten nod in as many years, becoming just the second player in program history to earn All-Big Ten honors in each of his four years at Purdue (also Paul Hoffman, 1944-47). He was also named Purdue's recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago