All-Big Ten Honorees

March 10, 2008


Complete List of 2008 All-Big Ten Honorees in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Five members of the Purdue men's basketball team and head coach Matt Painter were honored with All-Big Ten awards on Monday.

Painter was named Big Ten Coach of the Year by both the Big Ten media and coaches. He becomes the first Purdue coach to earn the award since Gene Keady took home the honor last in 2000. Keady was named Big Ten Coach of the Year a record seven times.

It's the second time in four years for such an award for Painter. He was named the Missouri Valley Coach of the Year in the 2003-04 season after leading Southern Illinois to a 25-5 record and league title.

Freshman Robbie Hummel was named first team All-Big Ten by the conference coaches and media. Hummel is the first player to earn first team honors since Carl Landry last season.

In Big Ten games, Hummel averages 13.0 points, 5.6 rebounds and 2.6 assists per game. He has posted four double-doubles on the season.

In addition, Hummel is the 29th Boilermaker to earn first team All-Big Ten honors and the first to do so as a true freshman.

"It's quite an honor for anyone to be named first team in this league, let alone a freshman," said Painter. "Robbie has gotten better and better as the season has progressed. He's a guy we count on to do a lot of things, so this honor is very deserving."

Freshman E'Twaun Moore was named second team All-Big Ten by both the conference coaches and media. He becomes the first Boilermakers to earn second-team honors since David Teague last season.

Moore led the Boilermakers in scoring in Big Ten games with 14.4 points per game. In addition, Moore set the Purdue freshman record for three-point field goals with 58. He ranked sixth in the Big Ten in scoring in conference games. He also averaged 3.9 rebounds and led Purdue in assists during the Big Ten season.

"E'Twaun really hit a wall in December," said Painter. "To his credit, he kept plugging away and once we got into conference season, he really stepped up all elements of his game. He's a very good all around player."

Hummel and Moore were both named to the five-member All-Freshmen Team.

Sophomore Chris Kramer has been named the Big Ten's Defensive Player of the Year. He is the fourth Boilermaker to earn the award. Ricky Hall (1984), Porter Roberts (1996) and Kenneth Lowe (2003 and 2004) also took home the honor.

Kramer led the Big Ten in steals with 2.56 per outing in Big Ten games. He posted 67 steals on the season and had multiple steal games in 10 of his last 11 outings.

Kramer was also named to the All-Defensive team for the second-consecutive season.

In addition to begin named Defensive Player of the Year, Kramer was named Third Team All-Big Ten by the conference media and honorable mention All-Big Ten by the coaches.

"Kramer is a game-changer," said Painter. "His defense is obvious, but he does a lot of other things that don't show up in box scores that help us win basketball games."

Sophomore Keaton Grant named All-Big Ten honorable mention by both the conference coaches and media.

"Keaton really put a lot of time into his game this past summer," said Painter. "It's great to see him rewarded for his efforts."

Junior Bobby Riddell was the Purdue recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, which honors individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athlete must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Riddell is now a candidate for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

"Bobby has been great for this team," said Painter. "He always competes in practice and does things to help his teammates on and off the court."

Purdue is the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten Tournament and will face the winner of the Penn State-Illinois game. The Boilermakers' quarterfinal game is on Friday, March 14, at 6:30 p.m. ET and will be televised on the Big Ten Network.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago