Johnson, Moore Named NABC All-District 7

Senior guard E'Twaun Moore was named NABC All-District 7 for the second-straight year on Wednesday.

Senior guard E'Twaun Moore was named NABC All-District 7 for the second-straight year on Wednesday.

March 9, 2011

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - JaJuan Johnson and E'Twaun Moore added another line to their lists of postseason accolades on Wednesday, as the Purdue seniors were recognized as All-District 7 performers by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).

Johnson, the Big Ten Player and Defensive Player of the Year, was a first-team All-District 7 pick, while Moore, a first-team All-Big Ten selection for the second-straight season, earned second-team honors.

Members of NABC all-district teams are eligible for the State Farm Coaches' Division I All-America teams, to be announced on Saturday, April 2, at the Hilton Americas Hotel in Houston.

Johnson was awarded NABC All-District 7 honors for the second time in his career, having also earned the acclaim in 2009.

The Indianapolis native led the Big Ten in scoring in conference play with an average of 20.7 points per game, marking the first time a Boilermaker had done so since Glenn Robinson in 1994.

Johnson also led the league in blocks (2.5), and ranked third in total rebounds (8.3), defensive rebounds (6.1) and free throw percentage (.876), fifth in offensive rebounds (2.3), 11th in steals (0.9) and 14th in field goal percentage (.482) in Big Ten games.

He posted 10 double-doubles during the regular season, and currently leads the conference with 20 20-point scoring games on the year. He has netted double-digit points in 40-consecutive games, the sixth-longest streak in program history.

Johnson is also the lone player in Division I this season with 1,800 points, 800 rebounds, and 250 blocks for his career.

Moore's selection to the All-District 7 team was his second in as many seasons.

The East Chicago, Ind., native was once again one of the league's most consistent performers in 2011, ranking third in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.18), sixth in scoring (17.7), seventh in three-point field goals per game (2.28), ninth in three-point field goal percentage (.406) and steals (1.0), 11th in assists (3.4), 18th in rebounding (4.7) and 25th in free throw percentage (.687) in Big Ten games.



Over the course of his senior season, Moore became the fifth player in program history to break the 2,000-point barrier, and the fourth player in Big Ten history to accrue 2,000 points, 500 rebounds and 350 assists for his career. He also eclipsed the 1,000-point mark in Big Ten games only, the first Boilermaker to do so since Cuonzo Martin in 1995.

The ninth-ranked Boilermakers earned the No. 2 seed in this week's Big Ten Tournament, and will take on either Michigan State or Iowa in quarterfinal action on Friday at 6:30 p.m. ET. Big Ten Network will televise the action live, while the Purdue Sports Network will carry the call on the radio waves.

2011 NABC All-District 7 Teams
First team
JaJuan Johnson, Purdue
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State
Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin
Jon Leuer, Wisconsin
Talor Battle, Penn State

Second team
E'Twaun Moore, Purdue
William Buford, Ohio State
David Lighty, Ohio State
Darius Morris, Michigan
Trevor Mbakwe, Minnesota