Keady to be Honored Saturday
Jan. 18, 2017

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Gene Keady will be honored at halftime of the Purdue men’s basketball game against Penn State on Saturday.

For 25 seasons, Keady was the face of Purdue basketball.

The head coach of the Boilermakers from 1980-81 to 2004-05, Keady is the winningest coach in school history with a record of 512-270, a snappy .655 winning percentage. His teams won 20 or more games 14 times and 25-plus on six occasions, including a school-record 29 victories in 1987-88 and 1993-94.

Keady piloted Purdue to six Big Ten Conference championships (1984, 1987, 1988, 1994, 1995 and 1996) and three second-place showings (1983, 1990 and 1997) among 18 finishes in the top half of the league.

Purdue earned 17 NCAA Tournament berths, advancing to the Elite Eight in 1994 and 2000 and the Sweet 16 in 1988, 1998 and 1999.

Keady was named Big Ten Coach of the Year a record seven times (1984, 1988, 1990, 1994, 1995, 1996 and 2000) and National Coach of the Year on six occasions (1984, 1988, 1994, 1995, 1996 and 2000).

The personable Keady was universally admired for getting the most out of his talent. He got his players to believe in and perform their roles, and successfully blended together the diverse talents and personalities of each team.

The Boilermakers were equally as successful in the classroom as they were on the court. Nearly 90 percent of the seniors who stayed at Purdue for four seasons under Keady graduated.

Keady was inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in 2001, the Purdue Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame in 2010 and the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2013. Mackey Arena’s playing floor was dubbed Keady Court in 1997.

Tipoff between the 21st-ranked Boilermakers (15-4, 4-2 B1G) and the Nittany Lions (11-7, 3-2) is noon ET. The game will be televised by BTN.

The first 2,000 fans will receive a Gene Keady commemorative bobblehead. Keady is the first men’s basketball coach to be honored with a bobblehead giveaway, following four players: Joe Barry Carroll (2014-15), Glenn Robinson (2014-15), John Wooden (2015-16) and Rick Mount (2015-16).

The game is sold out.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago