Purdue's Fall Scrimmages Open to Public
Sept. 14, 2017


2017 Season Recap

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Purdue baseball begins its full fall practice schedule this week, highlighted by a long list of open scrimmages at Alexander Field.

The Boilermakers' full fall practices get underway Thursday, Sept. 14 and continue through the annual Old Gold & Black intrasquad series, set for Oct. 24 to 28 this year. Purdue will also host the Ontario Blue Jays on Friday, Sept. 22 for an exhibition game that is open to the public.

Those four games highlight the list of 20 scrimmages at Alexander Field this fall. Admission is free to all the open events. Weekday scrimmages begin at 3:15 p.m. ET. Weekend practices get underway at 11 a.m. All times and dates are tentative and subject to change.

Purdue (29-27, 12-12 B1G) has welcomed back much of its roster from the 2017 team that put together a program-record 19-win improvement from the 2016 season. In year one under head coach Mark Wasikowski, the Boilermakers returned to the Big Ten Tournament for the first time since winning the event in 2012.

Ten position players are back that saw action in at least 30 games a year ago. On the mound, Purdue's entire weekend rotation is back, headlining a group of seven returnees that pitched at least 25 innings in 2017.

But even as Purdue's roster has transitioned from youthful to experienced, the fall always means an influx of newcomers. The Boilermakers have a host of new players practicing at Alexander this fall, creating an atmosphere of competition that benefits newcomers and returning letterwinners alike.

Purdue Athletics will be offering live coverage of the Ontario game and the Old Gold & Black Series via GameTracker and on Twitter.

OLD GOLD & BLACK SERIES SCHEDULE
Days & Times Updated Friday, Oct. 20
Tuesday, Oct. 26 at 2 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 26 at 2:30 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 27 at 3:15 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 28 at 10:30 a.m.

OPEN SCRIMMAGE SCHEDULE

SEPTEMBER
Friday, Sept. 15 at 3:15 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 16 at 11 a.m.
Thursday, Sept. 21 at 3:15 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 22 at 3:15 p.m. -- vs. Ontario
Saturday, Sept. 23 at 11 a.m.
Thursday Sept. 28 at 3:15 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 29 at 3:15 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 30 at 11 a.m.
 
OCTOBER
Thursday, Oct. 5 at 3:15 p.m. -- Scout Day
Friday, Oct. 6 at 3:15 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 7 at 11 a.m.
Thursday, Oct. 12 at 3:15 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 13 at 3:15 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 14 at 11 a.m.
Thursday, Oct. 19 at 3:15 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 20 at 3:15 p.m.
Saturday Oct. 21 at 11 a.m.

 

 

@PurdueBaseball

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago