Plawecki Among 30 Semifinalists Nationally for USA Baseball's Golden Spikes Award
Kevin Plawecki leads Purdue with a .365 batting average entering the NCAA Regionals.

May 29, 2012

More Info & Fan Vote at | Complete Watch List

Order Your NCAA Regional Tickets

DURHAM, N.C. -- Already a semifinalist for a two prominent national awards, Big Ten Player of the Year Kevin Plaweckiof Purdue baseball has been selected among the 30 semifinalists for USA Baseball's Golden Spikes Award.

This marks the 35th consecutive year that the Golden Spikes Award has been presented to the nation's top amateur baseball player. Plawecki is also a semifinalist for the Johnny Bench Award (one of 12) and Dick Howser Trophy (one of 35). -- powered by -- will once again be the online home for the award. The Web site features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, voting history, past winner photo galleries, and photographs and video highlights for the 2012 semifinalists. Fans can follow online and vote for their favorite candidate at as the list of 30 players is narrowed to three finalists on Tuesday, June 5.

For the second year in a row, the GSA will be awarded live on MLB Network. On Friday, July 6, the three finalists for the award will be at MLB Network's studios for the presentation on The Rundown, which will feature interviews, video highlights and the announcement of the winner. The presentation will also be simulcast live on and

Plawecki led Purdue to the Big Ten regular-season and Tournament titles. He was named the Most Outstanding Player of the tournament after finishing the three games 4-for-9 with two home runs and five RBI. He hit a go-ahead two-run shot in the win against Ohio State and a tie-breaking homer in the championship game victory against Indiana. He became the first position player since 2001 to win Big Ten Player of the Year and Tournament MOP honors in the same season.

Plawecki has batted cleanup in every game for Purdue, leading the team with a .365 batting average entering the NCAA Regionals. He became the third Purdue player to garner First Team recognition in back-to-back seasons.

Plawecki has helped lead the Boilers to a program-record 44 wins this year and the opportunity to host an NCAA Regional this weekend at U.S. Steel Yard in Gary, Ind. The junior is expected early in next week's Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft, set for June 4-6.

About the Golden Spikes AwardSince 1978, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2011 Golden Spikes Award winner was Trevor Bauer of UCLA. Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball players such as Bryce Harper ('10), Stephen Strasburg ('09), Buster Posey ('08), David Price ('07), Tim Lincecum ('06), Alex Gordon ('05), Jered Weaver ('04), Rickie Weeks ('03), and Mark Kotsay ('95). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Pat Burrell ('98), Robin Ventura ('88), Jim Abbott ('87), Will Clark ('85), Dave Magadan ('83), Terry Francona ('80), Tim Wallach ('79), and Horner ('78). For more information, please visit

Golden Spikes Award Semifinalists
Name, Position, Class, School, Conference
Mark Appel, RHP, Junior, Stanford, Pac-12
Sean Bignall, OF, Senior, Arkansas-Little Rock, Sun Belt
Jayce Boyd, IF, Junior, Florida State, ACC
Kris Bryant, IF, Sophomore, San Diego, WCC
Kevin Gausman, RHP, Sophomore, Louisiana State, SEC
Jeff Gelalich, OF, Junior, UCLA, Pac-12
Marco Gonzales, LHP/IF, Sophomore, Gonzaga, WCC
Andrew Heaney, LHP, Junior, Oklahoma State, Big 12
Kurt Heyer, RHP, Junior, Arizona, Pac-12
Goose Kallunki, IF, Senior, Utah Valley, Great West
Daniel Kassouf, IF, Senior, Appalachian State, SoCon
Alex Keudell, RHP, Senior, Oregon, Pac-12
Trenton Moses, IF, RS-Junior, Southeast Missouri, Ohio Valley
Tyler Naquin, OF, Junior, Texas A&M, Big 12
D.J. Peterson, IF, Sophomore, New Mexico, Mountain West
Nick Petree, RHP, RS-Sophomore, Missouri State, Missouri Valley
Kevin Plawecki, C, Junior, Purdue, Big Ten
Danny Poma, OF, Senior, Hofstra, CAA
James Ramsey, OF, Senior, Florida State, ACC
Raph Rhymes, OF, Junior, Louisiana State, SEC
Carlos Rodon, LHP, Freshman, North Carolina State, ACC
Michael Roth, LHP, Senior, South Carolina, SEC
Richie Shaffer, IF, Junior, Clemson, ACC
Chris Stratton, RHP, Junior, Mississippi State, SEC
Ross Stripling, RHP, Senior, Texas A&M, Big 12
Marcus Stroman, RHP, Junior, Duke, ACC
Josh Turley, LHP, Junior, Baylor, Big 12
Michael Wacha, RHP, Junior, Texas A&M, Big 12
Alex Yarbrough, IF, Junior, Mississippi, SEC
Mike Zunino, C, Junior, Florida, SEC




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago