Hall of Fame Induction This Saturday
The Purdue Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2013 includes Joe Tiller, the winningest football coach in school history.

Sept. 24, 2013

The Purdue Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2013 will be recognized during halftime of Saturday's football game vs. Northern Illinois and formally inducted that evening.

Fans may attend the ceremony, set to begin at 7 p.m. in Mackey Arena. Admission is just $5, payable at the Athletic Ticket Office beginning at 6 p.m.

The Class of 2013 consists of nine former student-athletes, coaches and administrators, who were part of the Purdue athletic scene during eight different decades, stretching from 1892 to 2008:

~ Tony Butkovich, football, 1943
~ Alpha Jamison, football, baseball and track and field athlete, football and basketball coach, 1892-1901
~ Matt Light, football, 1996-2000
~ Stacey Lovelace, basketball, 1993-96
~ Willie Merriweather, basketball, 1957-59
~ Carol Mertler, field hockey coach and administrator, 1975-1988
~ Serene Ross, track and field, 1999-2002
~ Joe Tiller, football coach, 1982-85, and 1997-2008
~ Dick Walbaum, administrator, 1984-2001

These Boilermaker greats will join the 126 former Boilermakers who have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since 1994, when the selection process was initiated.

Six of the nine inductees are planning to attend. Butovich, Jamison and Walbaum are being honored posthumously and will be represented by family members.

Kickoff for the football game is set for noon. It's all part of Homecoming/Family Day and Varsity P club Weekend on campus.